Hartwell Series heats up

–  Hartwell Championship heats up

The 2013 Hartwell Motorcycle Club Championship was hotly contested at the first round at the Broadford State Motorcycle Sports Complex on February 9 & 10.

Sweltering conditions on Saturday with the temperature hitting 30 degrees and clear blue sky’s provided for a great days racing. Followed by Sundays’ slightly cooler change of around 25 degrees, once again provided great conditions for spectators and riders alike.

Qualifying Saturday morning showed great pace in the 600 Novice & Over 600 Novice class with the top 6 separated by less then .7 of a second, with Suzuki GSXR 1000 mounted newcomers Michael Hedley and brother Robert Hedley taking pole position and third place on the grid respectively, John Blyth taking his Yamaha R6 to second and David Bond rounding out the front row.

The Formula 400 class saw Jack Fox take his Yamaha FZR 400 to Pole position easily with a 1:01.980 only .544 of a second off the lap record, Paul Cassingham, Jason Embley and Peter Wadley all close behind on the front row.

After qualifying on Pole in the SuperMoto class James Dyer backed it up with an impressive win beating the other 16 riders in the first of the SuperMoto races on asphalt.

The SuperMoto racing was originally scheduled to be on the new part dirt section, but after the first race it was decided that the surface was unsafe and very dusty. Working with the SuperMoto riders, Race Direction approved the use of a short circuit around Broadford cutting out the main straights and it was decided they would use that for the remainder of their racing, showing a hard 90 degree corner which provided a great show for spectators of the riders sliding their machines through the turn.

The weekend saw the Sidecar class Plagued with Drama. During the first practice, Terry Goldie and Brad Gorrie blew up the engine in their sidecar on the first lap, and it was unable to be fixed for the remainder of the weekend.

The second sidecar race on Saturday saw a collision between the Alvin GSXR 1000 Sidecar of Chris Grubb and Janina Gorski and the GSXR 600 powered sidecar of Ron Marten and Gavin Smith, which saw both passengers ejected simultaneously from their sidecars and Gorski’s arm to become trapped underneath her Sidecar; this causing the race to be red flagged and restarted, Both sidecars received serious frame damage in the incident and could no longer compete in the rest of the weekends racing.

The third event for the sidecars was also red flagged on the first lap due to a collision between 3 sidecars being Justin Foot and passenger Melissa Foot, Mark Leigh and passenger Ian Robertson and Duncan Rogers and passenger Rod Bell. Causing Ian Robertson to become stuck underneath. In the restart Bill Sayers and Josephine Voltic had a comfortable victory from Dwight Beare and Noel Beare, and also took out the round championship.

Sunday features the third and forth legs of racing for all classes, and also hosts the Greg Bailey Feature race, a 20 Minute + 1 Lap event for Expert and Selected Non Expert Riders. The racing was literally on fire after Honda CBR 1000 rider Dean Archbold while sitting in third place, 10 minutes into the event fell at turn 5, the resultant hot exhaust and dry grass instantly caught alight, with strong winds the resultant fire took hold instantly burning approximately 300 square metres of grass on the outside of the turn. The race was stopped until the area had been declared safe, at which point racing resumed for the remaining time, with Tyson Jones steering his Kawasaki ZX10 to a comfortable victory over Chris Ognenis followed by Bruce Howie.

The 600cc Non Expert class was close with the win for the round going to Kenny Redding with a finish in 1-2-1-1 for each race, closely followed by Team GB Galvanising’s Chris Watt who finished 2-1-2-2. Bruce Howie took a clean sweep of victories in the 600cc Expert class from closest Rival Mark Harris.

Tyson Jones put on a great performance in the Over 600cc Expert class, winning every race except the third, narrowly being beaten by Dean Archbold, but will be heading into round two 23 points clear of Shane McKenzie in second. The Over 600cc Non-Expert class being won by Ciscos Race Tuning/YRD rider Brad Conder, with Ben Garland and Shaun Pilmore rounding out the podium.

Consistency proved the winner of the Junior 80cc Class with Callum Alderson edging out Jacob Street after Street DNF’d the third race, with Alderson taking full advantage of the win to place him first in the championship standings after Round 1, followed by Street and Jock Manser.

As a part of each round a trophy is presented to the best-presented bike and rider and this round it was handed to Junior Rider Tom Dodd. The best-presented winner also draws a random name from a hat whom receives free entry to the following round, this was drawn by Dodd and won by 1000cc Novice Rider Steven Cincini.

The next round for the 2013 Hartwell Motorcycle Championships is on the 9 & 10th of March at Mac Park, SA.

125GP – Max Croker
250cc – Greg Breese
600 Expert – Bruce Howie, Non-Expert – Kenny Redding, Novice – John Blyth
Over 600 Expert – Tyson Jones, Non-Expert – Brad Conder, Novice – Michael Hedley
Formula 400 Stock – Peter Wadley, Modified – Jack Fox
Junior 150cc – Nic Liminton, 80cc Callum Alderson, 70cc – Scott Nicholson
SuperMono – Paul Newcombe
SuperMoto – Ben Verhagen
Historic P5 – Neville Grant,
Pre-Modern Over 500cc – David Simons, Up to 500cc – Jack Fox
Sidecars – Bill Sayers & Josephine Voltic
Superlights – Ron Matthews
Thunderbikes – Shane McKenzie
Full results at www.computime.com.au

  • Date
  • Categories
    No Category