—  VIC Dirt Track Titles

More than 120 competitors will contest the 2013 GasGas Victorian Junior and Senior Dirt Track Championships meeting at the State Motorcycle Sports Complex at Broadford this coming weekend ( October 12 and 13).

Entries have been received from riders from Queensland, New South Wales and South Australia, as well as the host State, and included in the line-up is an impressive list of current and former Australian champions.

Seven senior and 15 junior classes will be contested – those with 12 riders or less will be decided over five point-scoring rounds, while those classes with larger entry lists will be decided over four rounds of heats, a repechage and then a final.

Such is the quality of the line-ups it is very difficult to predict the likely outcome in many classes.

The best credentialed contender is Rowan Tegart from the Mildura area who has an impressive record of national and state title wins to his credit.

Young talent with good credentials like Brayden Elliott from Tumut, Zac Zanesco from Griffith and Sean McLellan and Bayley James from the Hunter region, and Peter Smith and Michael Vecchi form the Central Coast Club in New South Wales are also expected to be very competitive in each class they contest.

One interesting name in the line-up is West Wyalong rider Matthew Davies, a multi title winning rider in his junior days, who spent much of the 2013 season racing in the Supersport World Championship.
Entries from Harley Club of Victoria members are strong throughout all classes but they will face a stern test as the interstate stars try to take away the Victorian honours.

One of the best hopes among the host club, Bradley Burns, is coming off four class wins at the South Australian Championships last month, and then two class wins at the Australian Classic Dirt Track Championships at Temora last weekend.

Club President Richard Loft scored a placing at the South Australian title meeting, and he will fancy his chances particularly in the Senior class along with Ray Stevens.

Stephanie Redman and Tonia Mataele are Harley club riders among the line-up for the Womens class.
West Wyalong duo Scott Sandow and Wayne O’Meley are back to defend their Sidecar title

Six current Australian champions are among the entries for the junior classes –
Thomas Duggan and Josh Dominello from Cowra, Joel Kelso from Brisbane and Senna Agius from the Central Coast, along with Keegan Pickering from Kurri and Iilish Ross from Albury have all tasted national success this year.

Among them it is interesting that Kelso and Ross have also made a successful entry into road racing competition this year.

Another five riders were placed in a national title class earlier in the year, so the junior racing is sure provide excitement to match that turned on by the seniors.

Saturday will see Rider’s Briefing at 9am followed by practice at 9.30 and racing from 10.30. On Sunday those times will be 8.30 am, 9am and 10 am with racing to conclude around 3pm following which presentations will be held.


You may also like

No Comment

You can post first response comment.