Classic Lightweight  TT

Following a two year absence, Bruce Anstey achieved one of the most popular Mountain Course race wins in history in this evening’s Dunlop Lightweight Classic TT Race, the second race of the 2019 Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey

The indomitable New Zealander, who has been battling cancer, was cheered all around the course by fans as he dominated the race on his 250cc two stroke Honda and was never headed, eventually clinching the race win – his sixth in the Classic TT and his third in the Lightweight class – by over a minute from his Milenco by Padgetts Motorcycles teammate, Davey Todd.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey

In the winners enclosure after the race, an emotional Anstey paid tribute to the Padgetts team: “It’s awesome to win. I can’t believe it. Everyone – the team, Clive (Padgett), my family have just been awesome. I was right in the zone but on the last lap I was really nervous and just short shifted – I was not trying to go fast – just get it to the end. The last two years have been really tough. If it wasn’t for Anny (his partner) I wouldn’t be here.”

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey atop the podium

Todd had the honour of leading the field away but it was Anstey who lead on the clock at the opening checkpoint at Glen Helen from James Hind – a MGP newcomer in 2018 – the second fastest qualifier, with Todd a further two seconds back in third.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey

Eight time Sidecar TT Race winning passenger Dan Sayle, on his own comeback from serious injury in last year’s Classic TT meeting, showed his two stroke prowess in fourth riding a John Chapman Racing Honda with Ian Lougher, himself no stranger to the lower capacity bikes, completing the top five on the Laylaw Racing Yamaha less than a second behind Sayle at the first timing point.

Lightweight James Hind
James Hind

Anstey had increased his lead to 15 seconds over Hind by the Bungalow on the opening lap, with Todd a further five seconds back. Anstey’s opening lap – 117.053mph – gave him a near 20-second lead over Hind with Todd (114.687) holding third place.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey

Many of the leading riders came in for their pit stop at the end of the opening lap to give them a ‘flying’ third lap including Anstey, who emerged from a forty second pit stop to lead on the road and on the clock by 40 seconds at Glen Helen on the second lap.

However, Hind’s race challenge was effectively over as a 30-second pit lane speeding infringement, coupled with a long stop of over a minute, dropped him to eighth and although Todd was now second, a lengthy pit stop of 56 seconds put him significantly behind the race leader. Lougher, after his own 40-second pit stop, was only six seconds behind Todd in third.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey
Bruce Anstey in the pits

By this stage Anstey was already in his own race and his second lap of 113.399mph gave him an unassailable lead of almost a minute from Todd (110.322) who was now established in second place, leading third placed man Lougher by 17 seconds.

Jamie Coward (109.950) on a Binch Racing Yamaha and Dominic Herbertson (109.620) completed the top five at the end of the second lap. Hind (110.037) had battled back to sixth place and was clearly on a charge after his earlier misfortune.

Lightweight Bruce Anstey McGuinness
Bruce Anstey with Classic Senior TT winner John McGuinness

Anstey clinched the race win with a final lap of 116.157mph and Todd’s 114.889mph lap secured the runners-up spot but behind the Milenco by Padgetts Motorcycles pair, James Hind was on a charge and set the fastest lap on the final circuit – 116.601mph securing the Lincolnshire rider the final podium place. Lougher (114.628) came home in fourth with Jamie Coward (113.820) completing the top five.



Lightweight Classic TT Race Results

PosRiderBest LapTotal Time
1Bruce Anstey117.05 mph 19m20.39758m47.5
2Davey Todd114.89 mph 19m42.25259m57.8
3James Hind116.60 mph 19m24.90000m07.3
4Ian Lougher114.63 mph 19m44.94200m17.7
5Jamie Coward113.82 mph 19m53.36000m34.4
6Charles Rhys Hardisty113.54 mph 19m56.32500m5.3
7Daniel Sayle112.93 mph 20m02.80401m00.2
8Gary Vines112.45 mph 20m07.90601m25.4
9Phil Harvey107.87 mph 20m59.22003m59.1
10Steven Howard107.82 mph 20m59.78704m12.3
12John Barton106.88 mph 21m10.87104m43.5
13Alex Sinclair106.42 mph 21m16.34604m51.6
14James Ford106.61 mph 21m14.03405m01.7
15Richard Lambourne103.98 mph 21m46.26206m22.0
16Christopher Dowling103.61 mph 21m50.91906m39.3
17Hefyn Owen103.34 mph 21m54.38006m49.7
18Mike Carter103.54 mph 21m51.79107m19.4
19Will Loder101.59 mph 22m17.01307m30.0
20Adrian Morris104.76 mph 21m36.53907m33.5
21Lee Jennings99.24 mph 22m48.74408m53.4
22David Madsen-Mygdal99.24 mph 22m48.72909m48.8
23Andrew Cowie98.46 mph 22m59.58510:12.8
24Jason Burrill*95.38 mph 23m44.08712:56.4
DNFChris Moore109.96 mph 20m35.23920:35.2
DNFLee Johnston111.00 mph 20m23.67641:45.4
DNFTom Snow107.02 mph 21m09.14404:19.1
DNFAndrew Davies101.30 mph 22m20.91345:19.4
DNFColin Croft96.84 mph 23m22.59123:22.6
DNFDominic Herbertson112.94 mph 20m02.65140:41.7

Lightweight Classic TT Final Qualifying (24th)

Friday Qualifying

PosRiderBest LapGap
Davey Todd
115.09 mph 19m40.146
Ian Lougher
113.79 mph 19m53.688
Dominic Herbertson
113.34 mph 19m58.462
Daniel Sayle
113.06 mph 20m01.328
Lee Johnston
112.37 mph 20m08.715
Jamie Coward
112.37 mph 20m08.802
Gary Vines
111.92 mph 20m13.608
Charles Rhys Hardisty
111.13 mph 20m22.239
Carsten Svendsen
110.48 mph 20m29.459
Chris Moore
109.55 mph 20m39.885
Alex Sinclair
105.74 mph 21m24.584
James Ford
104.01 mph 21m45.888
Adrian Morris
101.70 mph 22m15.639
Andrew Davies
101.36 mph 22m20.109
Steven Howard
100.94 mph 22m25.653
Andrew Cowie
98.71 mph 22m56.038
Jason Burrill*
94.66 mph 23m54.973
Phil Harvey
65.95 mph 34m19.675


GetRouted Shipping Europe Portrait
Experience Europe in 2020 or 2021 on your own motorcycle! Contact Get Routed’s Dave Milligan on 03 5625 9080 for more information