BSB Snetterton Test Wrap up

Leon Haslam proved he had mastered the Snetterton 300 circuit as the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider set the fastest time of the second day during the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship official test, as the Pocket Rocket moved to within 0.175s of Michael Laverty’s fastest overall time from yesterday (Wednesday).

Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)

“We finished the test here at Snetterton which finishes up a couple of busy weeks for me after the testing in Japan for the Suzuka Eight Hour. We did struggle a bit on day one with some technical issues and didn’t get as many laps in as we would have liked, especially as the 300 circuit was new to me. Today though we got two dry sessions and ended up fastest which was really good and I know the new circuit now too which is really positive. Now we move on to Knockhill, a circuit where I have won at in the past and enjoy so hopefully we have two good races there and try and maintain the championship lead.”

Leon Haslam
Leon Haslam

The top 13 riders were covered by just 0.7s after the two days on track and Tyco BMW’s Laverty held the marginal advantage ahead of the next round of the championship at Knockhill in Scotland next weekend (June 24/25/26).

The five different sessions throughout the two days were topped by five different teams and riders, but on the second day Haslam held the advantage, holding off the challenge from Honda Racing’s Jason O’Halloran who moved up the order to end the test third in overall combined times.

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne arrived back in the country ready for the second day, completing a handful of initial laps yesterday. The four-time champion progressed up the order throughout the day to move fourth fastest despite a small crash at Murrays, to finish ahead of local contender Luke Mossey, who only completed the first day with Quattro Plant Teccare Kawasaki.

Shane Byrne
Shane Byrne

Dan Linfoot had set the pace in the first session today (Thursday) but the Honda Racing rider was forced to settle for sixth position, holding off Alastair Seeley on the RAF Reserves BMW, who ended his day prematurely when he crashed out unhurt at Riches.

James Ellison held eighth position to make it two JG Speedfit Kawasakis inside the top ten with Glenn Irwin improving his pace on the second day to fire the second Be Wiser Ducati into ninth place as he continues his rookie campaign.

Bennetts Suzuki’s Tommy Bridewell completed the top ten, which featured five different manufacturers and seven different teams ahead of the next round of the season in Scotland.

South Australian Billy McConnell, a long time BSB campaigner in various categories, pushed his way up to 14th overall on the finale day of the test, edging past John Hopkins to end up 1.026-seconds off Laverty’s top of the table time.

Taree’s Josh Hook, seeing Snetterton and the WD Kawasaki for the first time, managed to lop 1.6-seconds off his Wednesday time, to end up 25th overall, 2.89-seconds off Laverty’s marker.

Michael Laverty
Michael Laverty
MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton official test
Wed-Thu Combined Best Times
  1. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) 1m:48.102s
  2. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.175s
  3. Jason O’Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.282s
  4. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.315s
  5. Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Teccare Kawasaki) +0.354s
  6. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +0.412s
  7. Alastair Seeley (RAF Reserves BMW) +0.423s
  8. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.531s
  9. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.562s
  10. Tommy Bridewell (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.672s
  11. Christian Iddon +0.684
  12. Danny Buchan +0.711
  13. Peter Hickman +0.717
  14. Billy McConnell +1.026
  15. John Hopkins +1.186
  16. Jake Dixon +1.240
  17. Richard Cooper +1.452
  18. Lee Jackson +1.456
  19. Ian Hutchinson STK +1.544
  20. Stuart Easton +1.803
  21. Aaron Zanotti +2.223
  22. Filip Backlund +2.456
  23. Taylor Mackenzie STK +2.610
  24. Joshua Elliott STK +2.727
  25. Josh Hook +2.892
  26. Howie Mainwaring Smart +2.998
  27. Fraser Rogers STK +3.254
  28. Jenny Tinmouth +3.576
  29. Adam Jenkinson STK +3.677
  30. Josh Wainwright STK +3.916
  31. Leon Jeacock STK +4.412
  32. Vittorio Ianuzzo +4.730
  33. James East STK +4.894
  34. Kevin van Leuven STK +5.114
  35. Stephen Draper STK +5.394
  36. Alex Olsen STK +5.989
  37. Richard White STK +6.159
  38. Tom Tunstall STK +6.571
  39. Rob McNealy STK +6.601
  40. Billy Mellor STK +6.628
  41. Ashley Beech STK +6.697
  42. Barry Teasdale +7.120
  43. Ryan Gibson +8.158
  44. James White +8.558
  45. Joshua Boyd +9.621