FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony brings 2019 to a close

Sunday at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana bid farewell to 2019 with another three awesome races to close out the season, and in the evening the FIM Awards ceremony brought the curtain down on the year – with Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) and Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) taking centre stage.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony Ezpeleta Marquez Dovizioso Vinales
Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta (L) with the premier class top three and FIM President Jorge Viegas

Marquez more than most was in the spotlight as he received his MotoGP World Champion trophy after another season of record-breaking and an eighth world title.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony Marquez
Marc Marquez

The 2019 Awards were hosted by Gavin Emmett and Marina Lorenzo, with Dorna Sports CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Jorge Viegas in attendance to present the range of awards throughout the evening to all the winners this season.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony Vinales
Maverick Vinales

Youngest ever eight-time World Champion Marquez took top billing as he received his record-breaking MotoGP trophy, along with his brother, Moto2 World Champion Alex Marquez (EG 0,0 Marc VDS), and Moto3 World Champion Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) after their incredible seasons.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony Champs Marquez DallaPorta
The three Champions on their three winning machines

The top three in the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup inaugural year were also honoured, with Cup winner Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE), joined by runner Up Bradley Smith (One Energy Racing) and Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing).

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony MotoE Matteo Ferrari Bradley Smith Eric Granado

The top Independent Team rider title went to Fabio Quartararo (Petonas Yamaha SRT) after another stunning podium for the rookie earlier in the day, and this year’s MotoGP Rookie of the Year award was also presented to the Frenchman.

In Moto2, MB Conveyors Speed Up’s Fabio Di Giannantonio was crowned Rookie of the Year, with Celestino Vietti (Sky Racing Team VR46) taking that honour in Moto3.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony Lorenzo Dalla Porta
Lorenzo Dalla Porta: Moto3 Champion

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class went to Marquez for the seventh year in a row, the Repsol Honda Team picked up the MotoGP Team world title trophy, and Honda took the MotoGP Constructor Title in the premier class. Kalex came out on top in Moto2, and Honda in Moto3.

The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup winner Carlos Tatay, Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup Champion Sho Nishumura, and British Talent Cup Champion Scott Ogden were also applauded for their seasons, as were the top three in the FIM CEV Repsol Moto3 Junior World Championship: Champion Jeremy Alcoba, Tatay once again and impressive rookie Xavier Artigas – fresh from a first ever Grand Prix podium earlier in the day after a stunning Moto3 race.

FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony All
FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony