Monster Energy Supercross Notes Package – Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas

450SX Class Stats: Las Vegas

►The first race was held on March 17, 1990, and Jeff Matiasevich won on a Kawasaki

►This will be the 24th time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Sam Boyd Stadium

►First time winners: Jeff Matiasevich: 1990; Mike LaRocco: 1991; Jeff Emig: 1995

►Jeremy McGrath has won this race seven times, three times in the 250SX Class, four times in the 450SX Class

►From 1993-2002, there were 156 450SX Class races held and McGrath only missed one of them, which was Las Vegas in 1995.

►In 1997, Doug Henry made history when he won the Las Vegas 450SX Class race on a Yamaha 4-stroke; that was the first time a 4-stroke had ever won a 450SX Class race

450SX Class: Wins by Brand in Las Vegas

  • Yamaha 8
  • Honda 6
  • Kawasaki 6
  • Suzuki 2
  • KTM 1

450SX Class Recap: East Rutherford

►Ryan Villopoto earned his 40th 450SX Class victory. It was his 91st career 450SX Class start. He also clinched his fourth consecutive 450SX Class championship becoming the first rider since Jeremy McGrath from ’93-’96 to win four straight. They are the only riders to accomplish this.

►Villopoto has 71 career AMA victories; he is in fourth place on the all-time AMA win list

►Villopoto now has nine career AMA titles; he passed Jeremy McGrath on this list and is in second behind Ricky Carmichael.

►With his championship, Villopoto passes Bob Hannah on the all-time 450SX Class championship list and sits in third behind Carmichael

►Villopoto gave Kawasaki their 10th 450SX Class championship. They are now tied with Yamaha in consecutive championships at four. Honda holds the record with nine straight.

►Eli Tomac tied his best finish of the season with a runner-up. He also has earned back-to-back top five finishes for the first time this season.

►Josh Hill earned his first podium since February 13, 2010 in Anaheim. He now has eight top-10 finishes. His previous best finish of the season was a seventh in St. Louis.

►Justin Barcia finished in fourth. It was his 10th top-five finish. He now has six straight top five finishes.

►Ken Roczen earned his 10th top-five finish with a fifth place. He has finished in the top seven in every race except for his two DNFs.

►Ryan Dungey earned a sixth place finish. He finished in the top-10 in every race this season except for Anaheim 3.

►In the last 36 450SX Class races, Dungey has finished in the top 10 in 35 of them. In 27 of those races, he earned top-five finishes. In 82 career 450SX Class starts, Dungey has 70 top-five finishes. That is a top five percentage of 85%.

►Mike Alessi earned his fourth top-10 finish of the season with a seventh place. It was his second-best finish of his season, and he now has three consecutive top-10 finishes

►Alessi is one of six riders to start each race this season.  Villopoto, Dungey, Stewart, Roczen, and Short are the other riders. Weston Peick and Nick Wey just missed out on this list by missing one race a piece. Barcia has missed two.

►Nick Wey had his 172nd 450SX Class start, passing Chad Reed on the all-time starts list for fifth. If he starts this weekend, he will tie Jeremy McGrath for fourth.

250SX Class Stats: Las Vegas

►The first race was held on March 17, 1990, and McGrath won on a Kawasaki

►This is the 24th time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Las Vegas

►In 1995, this race became the Dave Coombs East/West Shootout

►In 2011, this race became the final race for both the East coast and West coast classes

►In the 17 Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout races, the East and West coasts are tied with nine wins a piece

►Since the shootout started in 1995, a newly crowned 250SX Class Champion has gone on to win the shootout eight times: Windham (’97); Carmichael (’98); Ramsey (99); Stewart (04) Dungey (07), Pourcel (’09); Weimer (’10); Barcia (’12); Roczen (’13).

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in Las Vegas (Shootout only)

  • Kawasaki 9
  • Suzuki 6
  • Honda 4
  • Yamaha 3
  • KTM 2

250SX Class: First time Winners

  • Jeremy McGrath 1990
  • Andrew Short 2003
  • Ken Roczen 2011

Western Regional 250SX Class Recap: Seattle

►Cole Seely earned his second 250SX Class victory in Seattle. He has five podiums and has finished in the top four in every race this season. He is eight points behind Jason Anderson going into the last race of the season.

►Jason Anderson earned his sixth podium of the season with second. He has three consecutive podiums and is the current points leader.

►Justin Hill earned his third podium of the season and has finished in the top five in five of the past six races.

►Dean Wilson earned his sixth top-five finish of the season with a fourth place. He sits one point behind teammate Justin Hill for third in the points standings.

►Jessy Nelson earned his best finish of the season and first top five finish with a fifth.

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Recap: East Rutherford

►Justin Bogle earned his second career 250SX Class victory. He has four consecutive top-two finishes and is comfortably in first place by 17 points over Martin Davalos, who isn’t expected to race in Las Vegas. If Davalos doesn’t line up, Bogle automatically wins the championship and gives Honda their fourth straight 250SX East Coast class championship.

►Jeremy Martin earned his first podium of the season with a runner-up. He has two top-five finishes.

►Vince Friese earned his first podium of the season and is tied for third in the point standings.

►Matt Bisceglia tied his best finish of the season with a fourth-place finish

►Matt Lemoine earned his third top-five finish of the season with a fifth place

►Mitchell Oldenburg grabbed his best finish of the season with an eighth.

►Jackson Richardson raced to his first top ten finish of the season with a tenth.

2014 250SX wins by brand through 16 races

  • Kawasaki 8
  • Honda 4
  • KTM 4
  • Suzuki 0
  • Yamaha 0