ASBK 2018 – Round Seven – Phillip Island – FP2

Wayne Maxwell topped the opening practice session at a sunny Phillip Island this morning then reasserted his speed by also topping most of the FP2 session this afternoon before being gazumped at the final juncture by defending champion Josh Waters.

Maxwell was straight into the 1m32s on his first flying lap of FP2 and Waters was the only rider to keep him company in the 32s, but that was not until late in the session.

Waters dropped in a 1m32.916 to knock Maxwell out of top spot in FP2, but that was not enough to better Maxwell’s 1m32.901 from the morning session. Waters then put his head down again though to lower the benchmark to 1m32.846, then dropped it further again to 1m32.762s. That was good enough to give the Suzuki man sway at the front of the field ahead of the FP3 session later this afternoon.

Troy Bayliss left his charge until the end of the session, catapulting himself forward from P8 up to P3 in the dying seconds of the FP2 session with a 1m33.104.

Newly crowned 2018 ASBK Champion Troy Herfoss was another to improve on his final lap of the session, a 1m33.194 his best for the day so far and good enough for P4.

Glenn Allerton is certainly glad to be back onboard the BMW S 1000 RR and delighted his NextGen team with a string of fast laps, the best of which was a 1m33.220, good enough for fifth this afternoon. His young teammate Ted Collins is putting in an encouraging performance with a 1m33.781 good enough for P6 this afternoon.

Bryan Staring and the BCperformance Kawasaki have some speed to find but he did lap quicker today than Mark Chiodo, Daniel Falzon and Matt Walters.

Newly minted Australian Supersport Champion Cru Halliday topped both Supersport sessions from Tom Toparis. Queenslander Callum Spriggs showed that he had not lost any speed in his time away from top level competition after dropping in a 1m36.733 to go third quickest.

Callum O-Brien set the 300 Supersport pace by a gnat’s whisker from fellow Yamaha YZF-R3 rider Locky Taylor while Oli Bayliss rounded out the top three.

Aaron Morris streeted the field in the Superbike Masters category with a 1m38.084.  The second session was brought to a premature end after the second placed Irving Vincent of Beau Beaton dropped its lunch and left the circuit staff some cleaning up to do, causing a delay in proceedings. Here are some of the bits and pieces collected from the track…

ASBK Rnd Phillip Island TBG Irving Vincent Engine Bits
The Irving Vincent left its lunch on the Phillip Island circuit – TBG Image

All categories still have one more practice session remaining later on today.

Superbike FP2

  1. Josh Waters – Suzuki 1m32.762
  2. Wayne Maxwell – Yamaha 1m32.968
  3. Troy Bayliss – Ducati 1m33.104
  4. Troy Herfoss – Honda 1m33.194
  5. Glenn Allerton – BMW 1m33.220
  6. Ted Collins – BMW 1m33.781
  7. Bryan Staring – Kawasaki 1m33.854
  8. Mark Chiodo – Suzuki 1m34.013
  9. Daniel Falzon – Yamaha 1m34.102
  10. Matt Walters – Kawasaki 1m34.354
  11. Jamie Stauffer – Ducati 1m34.509
  12. Arthur Sissis – Honda 1m34.789
  13. Mitch Levy – Yamaha 1m35.026
  14. Kyle Buckley – Kawasaki 1m35.350
  15. Glenn Scott – Kawasaki 1m35.511

Supersport 600 FP2

  1. Cru Halliday – Yamaha 1m35.598
  2. Tom Toparis – Kawasaki 1m36.320
  3. Callum Spriggs – Yamaha 1m36.733
  4. Max Croker – Suzuki 1m37.421
  5. Damon Rees – Honda 1m37.578
  6. Nic Liminton – Yamaha 1m38.038
  7. Scott Nicholson – Suzuki 1m38.264
  8. Dylan Whiteside – Yamaha 1m38.442
  9. Ryan Taylor – Yamaha 1m38.773
  10. Jack Passfield – Yamaha 1m38.789

Supersport 300 – FP2

  1. Callum O-Brien – Yamaha 1m50.436
  2. Locky Taylor – Yamaha 1m50.438
  3. Oli Bayliss – Kawasaki 1m50.659
  4. Tom Bramich – Yamaha 1m50.759
  5. Zac Levy – Yamaha 1m50.935
  6. Hunter Ford – Yamaha 1m51.136
  7. John Lytras – Yamaha 1m51.196
  8. Seth Crump – KTM 1m51.319
  9. Tayla Relph – Yamaha 1m51.374
  10. Max Stauffer – Yamaha 1m51.914

YMF R3 Cup – FP2

  1. Locky Taylor – 1m49.512
  2. Hunter Ford – 1m49.908
  3. Callum O’Brien – 1m50.375
  4. Tom Bramich – 1m50.384
  5. Zane Ford – 1m50.453
  6. Zac Levy – 1m50.549
  7. Tayla Relph – 1m50.862
  8. John Lytras – 1m50.977
  9. Max Stauffer – 1m51.034
  10. Harry Khouri – 1m51.495

Superbike Masters – FP2

  1. Aaron Morris – Yamaha 1m38.084
  2. Beau Beaton – Irving Vincent 1m39.502
  3. Jason Cullen – Yamaha 1m42.708
  4. Scott Webster – Harris Suzuki 1m46.648
  5. Stephen Kairl – Yamaha 1m47.539
  6. Lachlan Hill – Yamaha 1m47.683
  7. John Allen – Yamaha 1m48.123
  8. Justin Mellerick – Honda 1m49.765
  9. Albert Tehennepe – Harris F1 1m50.017
  10. Bernie Leen – Harris F1 1m50.125