2019 Classic TT

Junior Classic TT

2019 proved to be Jamie Coward’s year in the Classic TT, finally laying claim to the top step of the podium, after amassing three runner-up positions in previous TT’s. Coward finally took the top step in the Junior Classic TT race ahead of Michael Rutter and Dominic Herbertson.

Isle of Man Classic TT Jamie Coward
Jamie Coward – 2019 Junior Classic TT Race

After the race the elated Lancastrian revealed in the winner’s enclosure that it was ‘a childhood dream to come to the Isle of Man and win’.

Isle of Man Classic TT Jamie Coward
Jamie Coward – 2019 Junior Classic TT Race

The Junior Classic TT Race, the third race of the 2019 Classic TT Races presented by Bennetts, finally got underway at 2pm after mist around the Mountain Course delayed the start of the race.

Paul Jordan on the Ripley Land Racing AJS was first away from the line but by Glen Helen Lee Johnston, who started 13th on the grid, was first on the clock, five seconds ahead of Coward on the Ted Woof Craven Honda with Dominic Herbertson a further half second behind Coward. Michael Rutter, a two-time Junior Classic TT Race winner on the Ripley Land Racing Honda, was fourth, 2.5 seconds off the final podium place with Hefyn Owen completing the top five.

Isle of Man Classic TT Michael Rutter
Michael Rutter – 2019 Junior Classic TT Race

Johnston, the outright lap record holder for the class, maintained a lead of six seconds over Coward at Ramsey with Herbertson established in third, eight seconds down on Coward but five ahead of Rutter, with Owen a further five seconds back holding fifth place.

Rutter was first on the road through the Grandstand with an opening lap of 100.82mph, but Johnston’s opening lap of 103.38mph gave him a nine-second lead at the front of the field from Coward (102.68mph) with Herbertson (101.86) third and Rutter fourth, with Derek Shiels (100.22), moving ahead of Owen (99.89) into the top five.

Coward had closed the gap to the race leader by six seconds at Glen Helen on the second lap however there was drama when news came through that race leader Johnston was confirmed as a retirement at the Gooseneck.

At the Grandstand at the end of the second lap, new race leader Coward (104.45mph) held a near 28-second leader over Herbertson (102.71mph) heading into the last lap with Rutter (102.64) moving into the final podium place and Sheils and Owen.

Isle of Man Classic TT Jamie Coward
Jamie Coward – 2019 Junior Classic TT Race

Coward extended his lead on the last lap and clinched his first Mountain Course race win with a final lap of 103.40mph but behind the leader, Rutter had dramatically closed the gap to be only 2.5 seconds behind Herbertson at Ramsey before moving into the runner-up slot by the Bungalow with a 1.5 seconds lead over Herbertson.

Isle of Man Classic TT Junior Classic TT Top
2019 Junior Classic TT Race Top 3 – Herbertson, Coward, Rutter

Rutter duly held on with a final lap of 103.94mph but only 0.35 seconds ahead of Herbertson (102.76mph) with Sheils (100.09mph) and Owen (100.92) in fourth and fifth respectively.

Isle of Man Classic TT Dominic Herbertson
Dominic Herbertson – 2019 Junior Classic TT Race

Junior Classic TT Race – Top 5

1Jamie Coward01h05m39.499103.435 mph
2Michael Rutter01h06m17.418102.449  mph
3Dominic Herbertson01h06m17.769102.440  mph
4Derek Sheils01h07m32.927100.541  mph
5Hefyn Owen01h07m41.918100.318  mph
6Daniel Sayle01h07m46.807100.198  mph
7Alex Sinclair01h08m33.51099.060  mph
8Richard Wilson01h09m04.29598.324  mph
9Rob Hodson01h09m30.74097.701  mph
10Paul Jordan01h09m53.47997.171  mph
11Dean Osborne01h10m49.26295.895  mph
12David Madsen-Mygdal01h10m52.25895.828  mph
13Tom Weeden01h10m53.44395.801  mph
14Mark Purslow01h11m17.44595.263  mph
15Ewan Hamilton01h11m17.72895.257  mph
16Will Loder01h11m29.78694.989  mph
17Chris Moore01h13m30.88692.381  mph
18Dave Matravers01h13m45.97492.067  mph
19Alec Whitwell01h14m16.36491.439  mph
20Richard Lambourne01h14m26.74491.226  mph
21Jeff Smith01h14m39.66190.963  mph
22Karl Fox01h15m04.95990.452  mph
23Jack Hunter01h15m17.83990.194  mph
24Tony Tuttle01h15m33.63389.880  mph
25Simon Collins*01h15m36.07989.832  mph
26Colin Stockdale01h15m54.56889.467  mph
27Lee Jennings01h16m31.15988.754  mph
28Terence Sansom01h16m33.95488.700  mph
29Paul Williams01h16m43.86688.509  mph
30Russell Roebury01h17m06.38288.078  mph
31Gary Freeman01h17m06.43588.077  mph
32David Glover01h17m10.92787.992  mph
33Grant Sellars01h17m48.39787.286  mph
34Keith Dixon01h17m58.83287.091  mph
35Justin Roebury01h18m03.20287.010  mph
36Gary Hutton01h18m32.16086.475  mph
37Jason Lamb01h19m40.29085.243  mph
38Roy Phipps01h21m37.99283.194  mph

GetRouted Shipping IOM TT Landscape
Experience the Isle of Man in 2020 or 2021 and ride the circuit on your own motorcycle! Contact Get Routed’s Dave Milligan on 03 5625 9080
IIC Phillip Island Rob Mott Friday Jason Pridmore Josh Hayes

Team America announced for 2020 Island Classic

Team America for 2020 International Challenge announcedTeam America have thrown down the gauntlet to defending champion Australia ahead of the 2020 International Island Classic,...
Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Australia International Challenge win

Team Australia revealed for 2020 International Island Classic

2020 International Island Classic PreviewTeam Australia have announced an impressive line-up of riders for the International Challenge at next year's 2020 International Island Classic, which will...
Team Honda BSB TT

Honda BSB and TT line-up announced

Honda BSB and TT line-up announced Honda (UK) has announced a return to road racing as the Honda Racing team prepares a fresh campaign at...
Macau GP R

2019 Macau Grand Prix | Multiple pile-ups and starts

2019 Macau Grand Prix Michael Rutter (MGM by Bathams Honda RC213V) was declared the winner of the Suncity Group Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – 53rd...

Ride the Isle of Man TT course with Get Routed

Ride the Isle of Man on your own bike! Get Routed 2020 or 2021 IoM TT experience Stay on and tour Europe!Get Routed offer a range...
Chas Hern on the T Rex FJ1200 Yamah leads eventual championship winner Aaron Morris also on a FJ1200 and Stephen Kairl off the front straight in the Period 6 Unlimited field

Historic Road Race Nationals heads to Mount Gambier in 2020

2020 Australian Historic Road RacingMotorcycling Australia have announced that the Mount Gambier Motor Cycle Club Inc. will be hosting the 2020 Australian Historic Road...
Michael Rutter - TT Zero

TT Zero electric motorcycle races canned for two years

TT Zero to have zero races in 2020/21 The TT Zero events at the Isle of Man TT races have been an interesting sidenote at...
Aaiden Coote st Place Period Formula

Australian Historic Road Race Champions crowned at Collie

2019 Australian Historic Road Racing Championship Collie Motorplex - By John Innes Western Australian Photographer and Journalist John Innes gives us the race report from the...
Lee Johnston Mere Hairpin Scarborough Gold Cup ImageByMarkWalters

Lee Johnston takes the spoils at Oliver’s Mount

Oliver’s Mount Scarborough Road RacesRacing returned to Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough last weekend with the Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup back after a two-year absence. It was...
Classic TT Superbike David Johnson Win

David Johnson wins Classic TT Superbike race

2019 Classic TT  RST Superbike Classic TT RaceSouth Australian David Johnson, riding the Alistair Cowan Racing Kawasaki, won a dramatic RST Superbike Classic TT Race...