Teknic Honda’s Allerton Secures Championship!

Glenn Allerton 2008 Australian Superbike Champion

Teknic Honda finished their season with a perfect sweep of the final Australian Superbike Championships round at Eastern Creek accruing both a round and a title win, compliments of top performances by both Jason O’Halloran and Glenn Allerton.

Whilst O’Halloran was unshakable throughout the weekend, scoring a perfect 51 points for pole position and two race wins, Allerton claimed his first Championship title after two solid rides saw the 27-year-old finish ten points ahead of ’07 Champion Jamie Stauffer.

Allerton consistently scored at each of the seven rounds of the series, eventually securing the first domestic series win for himself as well as for the 2008 CBR1000RR.

“I’m really excited for myself as well as the Team,” Allerton said. “It’s fantastic to have won at my home track in front of my family and friends.”

“The season has gotten stronger for us at each round and we came here on the back of solid testing and excellent results at the MotoGP.”

“Jason really backed me up as well and helped me to secure the win. A big thank you to everyone who helped make it happen!”

Fresh off a plane from the UK where he competed in another round of the British Superbike series, 20-year old O’Halloran was a force to be reckoned with.

He set a blistering pole-setting time of 1:31 flat and proceeded to clock fastest laps in both premier class stoushes, winning the first from team mate Allerton by nearly ten seconds.

“Today could not have gone any better for me,” Jason said. “Everyone should be really proud of what we achieved, and it’s smiles all around for sure.”

“Congratulations to Glenn as well. It was a well deserved win.”

Team Manager Paul Free of Motologic said it was simply an awesome weekend.

“Both Superbike riders were fast throughout practice and showed great speed over race distance on Saturday.”

“Jason grabbed pole, but there wasn’t much between him and Glenn; it was great to see the Honda’s start from the top two positions.”

Glenn Allerton 2008 Australian Superbike Champion“We had a solid plan going into this weekend and we knew what had to happen to take out the Championship.”

“Everyone did their job which was fantastic to watch. Jason got his first round win of the season, and Glenn got the title so we couldn’t have asked for more.”

“A huge thank you to our Teknic Honda sponsors for making this year a great success. We are going to celebrate this one for quite some time!”

Round 7 Eastern Creek Results
1) Jason O’Halloran (Honda)
2) Glenn Allerton (Honda)
3) Kevin Curtain (MV Agusta)
4) Robert Bugden (Suzuki)
5) Jamie Stauffer (Yamaha)
6) Craig Coxhell (Suzuki)
7) Daniel Stauffer (Yamaha)
8) Chris Trounson (Honda)
9) Shannon Johnson (Kawasaki)
10) Scott Charlton (Kawasaki)

2008 Australian Superbike Championship Results
1) Glenn Allerton
2) Jamie Stauffer
3) Daniel Stauffer
4) Jason O’Halloran
5) Craig Coxhell
6) Robert Budgen
7) Kevin Curtain
8) Chris Trounson
9) Zac Davies
10) Jon Cartwright

Download – Full Results – All Classes 1Mb PDF

Glenn Allerton 2008 Australian Superbike Champion

2008 Championship Points – Final

1 Glenn Allerton Honda CBR1000RR 268
2 Jamie Stauffer Yamaha YZF-R1 258
3 Dan Stauffer Yamaha YZF-R1 245
4 Jason O’Halloran Honda CBR1000RR 239
5 Craig Coxhell Suzuki GSX-R1000 190
6 Robbie Bugden Suzuki GSX-R1000 172
7 Kevin Curtain MV Agusta 312R 168
8 Chris Trounson Honda CBR1000RR 157
9 Zac Davies Yamaha YZF-R1 130
10 Jon Cartwright Yamaha YZF-R1 124
1 Jamie Stauffer Yamaha YZF-R6 279
2 Joshua Waters Suzuki GSX-R600 271
3 Wayne Maxwell Honda CBR600RR 237
4 Ben Attard Yamaha YZF-R6 235
5 Judd Greedy Suzuki GSX-R600 214
6 Jeremy Crowe Yamaha YZF-R6 191
7 Grant Hay Yamaha YZF-R6 164
8 Chris Casella Yamaha YZF-R6 144
9 Chris Quinn Yamaha YZF-R6 134
10 Mitchell Carr Suzuki GSX-R600 119