Loris Capirossi is coming to World GP Bike Legends

One of Grand Prix racing’s best known stars – Loris Capirossi – has confirmed that he will be racing at the inaugural World GP Bike Legends on 19-21 June at Jerez, Spain. The Italian joins an incredible line-up of grand prix heroes including a host of fellow world champions that features Freddie Spencer, Wayne Gardner and Kevin Schwantz who have already committed to race.

Capirossi raced on the international stage for an incredible 21 years between 1990 and 2011, starting 328 races and claiming no fewer than three world championship titles. Now he’ll be donning his leathers once again to compete on-track against some former rivals and legends from the golden era of motorcycle racing.

On being asked to compete at the event, the 41-year-old jumped at the opportunity and commented: “Not only do I want to take part in this event, but I would love to ride both 250cc and 500cc! It sounds like a great idea and it will be amazing to be with so many old friends and rediscover old feelings in the saddle of the incredible two-stroke motorcycles.”

The Italian stunned rivals in his maiden grand prix season by winning the 125cc title for Honda at just 17 years of age. He comfortably defended the crown the following year, scoring podiums in all but one of the 12 rounds. This success saw the racing star move up to the 250cc class, where unsurprisingly he was an immediate front-running contender.

Another world championship victory would come for Capirossi in 1998 aboard an Aprilia 250cc before a full-time move to the fearsome 500cc class in 1999. Racing at the pinnacle of two-wheeled motor sport until 2011, Loris is still actively involved in the grand prix racing world as safety advisor to MotoGP’s commercial rights holders, Dorna Sports.

World GP Bike Legends is on course to boast the largest ever collection of world champions and racing heroes from all over the globe, with riders from Spain, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, the USA, the UK and France all coming together to race at Jerez – itself one of the most spectacular and iconic racing venues.

There’s much more on offer than just the racing, however, as fans will also be treated to some fantastic live music from the likes of Bonnie Tyler and Toseland, as well as an unrivalled open paddock policy that means every ticket holder will get incredible access to the paddock, pit garages and grandstand seating.

Photo caption: Loris Capirossi adds to the already impressive list of world champions set to race at World GP Bike Legends.

Loris Capirossi
Loris Capirossi
Loris Capirossi
Loris Capirossi
Loris Capirossi adds to the already impressive list of world champions set to race at World GP Bike Legends.
Loris Capirossi adds to the already impressive list of world champions set to race at World GP Bike Legends.

World GP Bike Legends

The inaugural World GP Bike Legends event will take place at Jerez in Spain on 19-21 June 2015 and see what’s likely to be the biggest group of former world champions ever assembled racing flat-out against each other. Dubbed ‘The Race of Legends’ the event will feature an incredible collection of grand prix motorcycles from 1980 to 2000, with 125cc, 250cc and 500cc classes all represented. The event was launched by former world champions Freddie Spencer, Wayne Gardner, Christian Sarron and Didier de Radiguès at the Regent Street Motor Show on 1 November. It will be run by Goose Communications – the organisers of the hugely successful Silverstone Classic, Regent Street Motor Show and London to Brighton Veteran Car Run.

Not only does the weekend feature former world champions going elbow-to-elbow aboard their original fire breathing two-stroke machines, there is live music topped by Bonnie Tyler on Saturday night and much more on offer in the trade village. All tickets give access to the entire weekend’s entertainment, including paddock access and grandstand seating.

Currently the following riders have been confirmed:

  • Freddie Spencer
  • Wayne Gardner
  • Christian Sarron
  • Didier de Radiguès
  • Kevin Schwantz
  • Graeme Crosby
  • Steve Parrish
  • José Luis Cardoso
  • Carlos Cardús
  • Loris Capirossi