2017 Central Coast Cup crowns new victors at Somersby event

By Peter Baker,  Image by David Lamont

New names were added to the honour roll of winners in both the senior and junior divisions of the Honda / Tumut Motorcycle Accessories Central Coast Cup after the 2017 staging of the event on the weekend at the Allen Park track at Somersby.

The Central Coast Junior Motor Cycle Club event attracted the best senior line-up in the 13 year history of the event and, along with a good line-up through the junior age divisions, a thrilling two days of action, excitement and drama was turned on for an appreciative crowd.

Queenslander Jarred Brook was the standout performer adding the Senior Central Coast Cup to a previous win in the Junior class in 2014. Brook’s ride in the eight-lap final was outstanding after he was last after 50 metres, before threading his way through the field to lead home the only previous dual Junior – Senior Cup winner Sean McLellan and the inaugural winner from 2005, Luke Gough in third place.

Experienced campaigner Michael Kirkness, Max Croker and Boyd Hollis were next home, after all loomed as possible placegetters at some stage. 

Unfortunately David Smith did not get to defend his Cup win from the past two years after he was concussed from a crash in an event early on Sunday, while another Queensland star Damien Koppe did not take to the track on Sunday after a fall on the first day left him with an injured shoulder.

Brook actually went close to a clean sweep having dominated the Pro 250 and Under 19 classes, producing a last corner pass on Luke Gough to win the Pro Open final. The only setback for Brook was in the Pro 450 final where an unusually poor start left him with too much to do and he finished fourth as Sean McLellan won.

The Over 35s and the Womens class produced their own close-fought action with Shannen Colless and Laura Saxon the respective winners.

Jordan Ussher and Billy van Eerde lead the pack - Image by David Lamont
Jordan Ussher and Billy van Eerde lead the pack – Image by David Lamont

Junior star Billy van Eerde failed in his bid to win a third consecutive Junior Cup which proved to be a dramatic and controversial eight-lapper. After a poor start Van Eerde was on the move when he was squeezed in to the fence while attempting to grab second place and he fell from his bike, but the race was allowed to continue.

Billy Van Eerde

“Had an up and down meeting riding the nice Husqvarna’s. After winning the 125/150 2stk and 250 4stk classes we went into the 8 lap cup race feeling good! After a bad start was having great battles coming through the pack onto second place on lap 2 and was put into the wall exiting turn 4 by another rider. A few band aids and onto State titles at Kurri Kurri in two weeks.”

Jordan Ussher scored the biggest win of his career with a great start and a faultless ride throughout to lead home Harry Ryan and Caleb Browne.

There was success for van Eerde in both the 2-stroke and 4-stroke supporting classes, while Ussher won the Junior Shoot-Out which was a series of one –lap dashes.

Matching van Eerde’s two class wins were Senna Agius and Archie McDonald. Other class winners were Jayden Holden, Cameron Dunker, Jacob Roulstone, James Wood, Hugh Dilley, Lachlan Trappel-McGregor and Nash Dorratt-Marvin, with all but Dorratt-Marvin also adding a minor placing to their wins.

The next major event for the junior riders will be the New South Wales Junior Track Championships to be staged at Kurri Kurri on the upcoming Queen’s Birthday weekend.

2017 Central Coast Cup Results

Central Coast Cup
  1. Jarred Brook
  2. Sean McLellan
  3. Luke Gough
Pro 450
  1. Sean McLellan
  2. Boyd Hollis
  3. Mac Croker
Pro Open
  1. Jarred Brook
  2. Luke Gough
  3. Sean McLellan
Pro 250
  1. Jarred Brook
  2. Mackenzie Childs
  3. Boyd Hollis
Under 19s
  1. Jarred Brook
  2. Boyd Hollis
  3. Harry Scott
Over 35s
  1. Shannen Colless
  2. Peter Knight
  3. Shane Wilkes
  1. Laura Saxon
  2. Bree-Anna Etheridge

Central Coast Cup
  1. Jordan Ussher
  2. Harry Ryan
  3. Caleb Browne
50cc Auto Div.2 7 – U/9
  1. Hugh Dilley
  2. Alexander Adamson
  3. Lachlan Russell
65cc 7 – U/9
  1. Jayden Holder
  2. Kurtis Jackson
  3. Hugh Dilley
65cc 9 – U/13
  1. Archie McDonald
  2. Cody Lewis
  3. Jacob Roulstone
80cc 4str Std 7 – U/11
  1. James Wood
  2. Tristan Ayres
  3. Lachlan Russell
85cc 4-str Modified 7- U/10
  1. Cameron Dunker
  2. Jayden Holder
  3. James Wood
85cc 4-str Modified 10- U/14
  1. Jacob Roulstone
  2. Callan Russell
  3. Mylee Ashcroft
85cc 2str / 150cc 4str Std 9 – U/11
  1. Archie McDonald
  2. Cameron Dunker
  3. Cody Lewis
85cc 2str / 150cc 4str Std11 – U/13
  1. Senna Agius
  2. Ryan Smith
  3. Benny Baker
85cc 2str / 150cc 4str B/W11 – U/13
  1. Senna Agius
  2. Benny Baker
  3. Ryan Smith
85cc 2str / 150cc 4str Std 13 – /16
  1. Lachlan Trappel-McGregor
  2. Callan Russell
85cc 2str / 150cc 4str B/W 13 – /16
  1. Nash Dorratt-Marvin
  2. Mitchell Martin
  3. Lachlan Trappel-McGregor
100-150 2-str 13 – U/16
  1. Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)
  2. Harry Ryan
  3. Jordan Ussher
200-250 4-str 13 – U/16
  1. Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)
  2. Jordan Ussher
  3. Harry Ryan
Junior Shoot-Out Winner
  1. Jordan Ussher