Aussie Supercross Round Two | Coolum | Honda 1-2 again

Australian Supercross Championship 2018 - Round Two - Coolum

Australian Supercross Championship 2018
Round Two – Coolum


American Justin Brayton has secured his second consecutive win in the Australian Supercross Championship at Coolum on the Sunshine Coast, this weekend.

Brayton was too strong for Aussies Brett Metcalfe [2nd] and Luke Clout [3rd] who rounded out the podium in the hotly contested 450, SX1 race.

Form the start, the #1 Penrite Honda hit the lead and didn’t look back, but it was the battle for the minor places that had the Coolum crowd on the edge of their seats.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team newcomer Nathan Crawford was one of those contenders, but a mistake saw an end to his weekend and a suspected leg injury for the Queenslander.

As a result the KTM Motocross Racing Team, with Clout onboard the bike, inherited third behind Metcalfe, where he would remain despite a crash late in the race, which he was able to recover from and secure the final podium spot.

Fourth place went to Jace Owen from the USA on the Complete Parts Kawasaki with Dan Reardon racing on through a flat tyre, to secure a top-5 result on his Yamaha.

Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team) came home in sixth, with Jesse Dobson (KSF Ecstar Suzuki), Lawson Bopping (Kawasaki), Nick Sutherland (Honda) and Zak Small (Husqvarna) rounding out the top-10.

SX1 rookie Cody Dyce (Suzuki) crashed hard in the initial laps through the whoop section to record a DNF result.

Justin Brayton – P1

“It was another challenging night but I felt better and rode to the conditions. I have a few things to work between rounds and I hope to improve going into round 3. Overall the Penrite Honda was amazing, my start in the final felt unreal and I rode smart to maintain my lead over my teammate. I am super pumped for everyone at Penrite Honda”.

Brett Metcalfe – 2

“I am happy to take another 2nd but I want to challenge my teammate and be more competitive. I can’t take anything away from Justin. His speed in some areas is hard for me to maintain. I will work hard on those areas between rounds and I hope I can be closer to him next weekend”.

Australian SX Coolum Brett Metcalfe ImageZhaneDunlop
Brett Metcalfe – Australian SX Coolum 2018 – Image by Zhane Dunlop

Luke Clout – P3

“I had a really good day – I was second in qualifying and won my heat. I was pretty close to Justin [Brayton] today, which is what the goal has been. I got hit by someone at the start of the main, which pushed me back a little bit, and I just struggled to make passes as it got a bit chaotic. It took two or three laps to get my flow and then I tried to make some passes on [Brett] Metcalfe, but I just tightened up in the closing stages. I think there are a lot of positives to take from today.”

Australian Supercross Championship 2018
Round Two – Coolum – SX1 Race Results Final
  1. Justin Brayton
  2. Brett Metcalfe +12.276
  3. Luke Clout +26.382
  4. Jace Owen +31.722
  5. Daniel Reardon +61.632
  6. Dylan Long +1 lap
  7. Jesse Dobson +1 lap
  8. Lawson Bopping +1 lap
  9. Nicholas Sutherland +1 lap
  10. Zak Small +1 lap
  11. Robbie Marshall +1 lap
  12. Jesse Madden +1 lap
  13. Rickie Girdwoon +2 laps
  14. Josh Kilvington +2 laps
  15. Cory Watts +3 laps
Australian Supercross Championship 2018
Round Two – Coolum – SX1 Championship Points
  1. Justin Brayton 50
  2. Brett Metcalfe 44
  3. Luke Clout 40
  4. Jace Owen 34
  5. Daniel Reardon 34
  6. Dylan Long 30
  7. Jesse Dobson 28
  8. Nicholas Sutherland 25
  9. Robbie Marshall 21
  10. Jesse Madden 21


In the 250 SX2 class, series leader Jay Wilson moved into the lead in the closing stages of the race to clinch his second-consecutive victory in the Australian Supercross Championship.

Second place went to Aaron Tanti with Wilson Todd rounding out the podium places. Hayden Mellross finished fourth ahead of American Dakota Alix from the KTM Motocross Racing Team.

The SX2 top-10 was completed by Jacob Hayes (Serco Yamaha), Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing), Jackson Richardson (Penrite CRF Honda Racing), Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Thomas Ravenhorst (KTM).

Australian Supercross Championship 2018
Round Two – Coolum – SX2 Race Results Final
  1. Jay Wilson
  2. Aaron Tanti +1.314
  3. Wilson Todd +2.453
  4. Hayden Mellross +3.386
  5. Dakota Alix +4.454
  6. Jacob Hayes +9.363
  7. Kyle Webster +15.454
  8. Jackson Richardson +25.4649
  9. Richard Evans +30.029
  10. Tomas Ravenhorst +32.605
  11. Bradley Taft +33.282
  12. Cooper Pozniak +36.952
  13. Dylan Wills +37.232
  14. Jayce Cosford +41.023
  15. Jy Roberts +46.041
Australian Supercross Championship 2018
Round Two – Coolum – SX2 Championship Points
  1. Jay Wilson 50
  2. Hayden Mellross 36
  3. Wilson Todd 34
  4. Bradley Taft 32
  5. Dakota Alix 31
  6. Jacob Hayes 31
  7. Josh Osby 25
  8. Richard Evans 25
  9. Aaron Tanti 24
  10. Jackson Richardson 24

The Australian Supercross Championship now heads to Geelong in Victoria for round three, scheduled for 13 October.


Peter Doyle has been announced CEO of Motorcycling Australia.

Coronavirus and motorcycle sport in Australia | Interview with M.A. CEO

Motorcycle Racing State of the Nation On Friday evening editor Trevor Hedge had a...
AMA SX Rnd Start SX BDW Daytona

AMA Supercross cancels next five rounds | Daytona 200/TT postponed

Coronavirus interrupts AMA SX season Official Statement Due to the increasing spread of COVID-19 and expanding...
AMA SX Rnd Multiple SX BDW Daytona

2020 AMA Supercross Images | Daytona Round 10 Gallery B

2020 AMA Supercross Round 10 – Daytona, Florida - Gallery B Images by Hoppenworld