Australian MotoGP Schedule

MotoGP’s mid-point on the three-week back-to-back tour around the Pacific Rim sees MotoGP in our backyard this weekend at Phillip Island for the Pramac Generac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Joining the stars of MotoGP will be two support classes for local competitors, however almost the entire regular ASBK Superbike grid are choosing to sit the event out.

There are no points on offer, the ASBK finale is the following weekend after MotoGP, and finding the extra ten grand (at least that for a major team – probably a quarter of that for a base privateer), to do the MotoGP round, after already trying to find enough budget for a seven-round ASBK Championship, just doesn’t add up for most.

Two of the regular ASBK front runners on the grid will be Penrite Honda’s Troy Herfoss and Mark Chiodo. 

NextGen BMW have entered Glenn Allerton who will use the MotoGP round to shake down the new BMW S 1000 RR. 

DesmoSport Ducati understandably seem to have elected to keep Mike Jones out of harms way ahead of the ASBK Superbike finale, but fronting up on their new V4R will be none other than Troy Bayliss.

ASBK TBG ASBK Round Phillip Island Troy Bayliss TBG
Troy Bayliss on the Ducati V4R at Phillip Island – TBG Image

Jed Metcher and Ryan Taylor are capable of maybe springing a surprise on some of the Superbike front runners.

The Supersport 300 ranks are also quite slim compared to a regular ASBK round.

All this of course means that ASBK is hardly putting its best foot forward as a shop-window into the series in front of what will likely be a very healthy MotoGP crowd. Not their fault really, it’s just economics….

Check out the entry list and full weekend schedule for the Australian Grand Prix weekend below.

2019 Australian GP Supports Entry Lists

Australian Superbike (ASBK)

# Rider State Make
1 Troy Herfoss QLD Honda
33 Hamish McMurray NSW Kawasaki
14 Glenn Allerton NSW BMW
21 Troy Bayliss  QLD Ducati
217 Dean Hasler NSW  
83 Lachlan Epis NSW Kawasaki
52 Ryan Taylor VIC Yamaha 
74 Scott McGregor VIC Honda
34 Trent Gibson VIC Ducati
3 Jed Metcher VIC Suzuki
11 Philip Czaj VIC Aprilia
30 Mark Chiodo VIC Honda
113 Dennis Bech VIC Yamaha 
19 Richard Hewson VIC Yamaha 
41 Philip Buckman VIC Suzuki
78 Lukey Luke Follacchio VIC BMW

Australian Supersport 300 (SSP300)

# Rider State Make
22 Keegan Pickering NSW Yamaha
25 Luke Jhonston NSW Kawasaki
131 Adam Cox QLD KTM
100 Zane Kinna VIC Yamaha
16 Josh Noden VIC Yamaha
24 Cooper Corbett VIC Yamaha
40 Jeremy Czmok VIC Yamaha
25 Alistair Wilton NZ Yamaha
37 Patrick Bognar VIC Yamaha
48 Brian Lewis VIC KTM
95 Matthew Rindel  VIC Yamaha
111 Wayne Batson SA  
12 John Blenkin NSW Yamaha
19 Craig White NSW Kawasaki

2019 Australian GP Schedule (AEDT)

Time Class Session
09:00 Moto3 FP1
09:55 Moto2 FP1
10:50 MotoGP FP1
11:45 SSP300 Prac
12:15 ASBK Prac
12:35 Pit Lane Walk 25 mins
13:15 Moto3 FP2
14:10 Moto2 FP2
15:05 MotoGP FP2
15:55 MotoGP Tyre Test
16:25 SSP300 Qual
16:55 ASBK Qual
17:20 Pit Lane Walk 35 mins
17:30 SSP300 Race 1
Time Class Session
09:00 Moto3 FP3
09:55 Moto2 FP3
10:50 MotoGP FP3
11:45 ASBK Race 1
11:50 VIP Pit Lane Walk 35 mins
12:35 Moto3 Q1
13:00 Moto3 Q2
13:30 Moto2 Q1
13:55 Moto2 Q2
14:25 MotoGP FP4
15:05 MotoGP Q1
15:30 MotoGP Q2
16:00 SSP300 Race 2
16:00 Pit Lane Walk 4 30 mins
16:15 RAAF Roulettes Aerial Display  
16:35 ASBK Race 2
17:00 Qualifying Press Conference  
Time Class Session
0850 Moto3 WUP
0920 Moto2 WUP
0950 MotoGP FP4
1020 MotoGP Q1
1045 MotoGP Q2
1200 Moto3 Race
1320 Moto2 Race
1500 MotoGP Race
Indonesia underlines global importance by launching Repsol HRC campaign in Jakarta

MotoGP | An Asian Love Affair

MotoGP | An Asian Love Affair MotoGP has become hugely popular worldwide over the years with impressive growth in pretty much all markets, and massive...