Australian Superbike Phillip Island Test

DesmoSport Ducati rider Mike Jones proved his quick adaption to the Italian v-twin by topping a two-day Phillip Island test this week. A 1m33.233 the Queenslanders time, which compares favourably with Jamie Stauffer’s 1m33.347 fastest lap of the race in the 2015 ASBK finale, and not all that shy of Troy Herfoss’ 1m32.852 pole position lap that same October.

Jamie Stauffer was second quickest ahead, ahead of Josh Hook, Troy Herfoss and Bryan Staring.

That quintet were the only riders in the 1m33s bracket while Daniel Falzon recorded the sixth quickest time, 1m34.093.

Daniel Falzon

“We have been working with Seb from Dunlop and Ken for the past two days, just trying to see which tyre Phillip Island really requires and what tyre handles it the best,” he said.

“The track as we see at MotoGP and the World Superbikes events, is very demanding on the tyres. Dunlop has bought many tyres for us to test and I think we have something here that will do the race for sure,”

“As for yesterday we are very happy with our progress I think with a bit more development with these Dunlop tyres and a bit more testing we can really put it up with the other manufactures and I believe we have a really competitive package so far.”

Daniel Falzon pictured during the opening rounds of the Phillip Island Championship staged during the Superbike World Championship weekend earlier this year
Daniel Falzon pictured during the opening rounds of the Phillip Island Championship staged during the Superbike World Championship weekend last year

Supersport rider Mark Chiodo had a very successful day on board his Triumph 675, making significant progress after day one. With Chiodo having only raced professionally for a year and a half, this young man has proven today that hard work pays off and couldn’t get the grin off his face after two demanding days on the bike.

Mark Chiodo

“I started off pretty good but towards the end it got pretty hot,” he said.

“The wind picked up a bit, which made riding difficult, other than that it was a good day to start off with.

“It’s the first time topping the time sheets, and it’s the first time I have been down to the times. I am pretty happy with the results”

“We are pretty happy and confident leading into the series, especially to know that I am there now, but still have room to get better.”

Competitors next focus their attention on gearing up for a spectacular round of the World Superbike Championship and round one of the Australian Superbike Championship at Phillip Island at the end of February. The ASBK series then moves to Wakefield Park at the end of March for round two and stays in NSW for round three at Sydney Motorsport Park on April 17. ASBK then crosses the Nullarbor to race at Wanneroo on the first weekend in June and then enjoys a two month break before heading to Morgan Park on August 7 while the series finale will be staged at Winton across the first weekend in October. 

Australian Superbike Test Session – Phillip Island – Feb 8/9 2016
  1. Mike JONES (QLD) Ducati 1299 1:33.233 
  2. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) Honda 1000 1:33.546
  3. Josh HOOK 1:33.674
  4. Troy HERFOSS (NSW) Honda 1000 1:33.919
  5. Bryan STARING (WA) Kawasaki 1000 1:33.978
  6. Daniel FALZON (SA) Yamaha 1000 1:34.093
  7. Robby BUGDEN (QLD) Kawasaki 1000 1:34.168
  8. Ben BURKE (NSW) Kawasaki 1000 1:34.505
  9. Michael BLAIR (NSW) Yamaha 1000 1:34.767
  10. Jed METCHER (VIC) Yamaha 1000 1:34.885
  11. Matt WALTERS (NSW) Kawasaki 1000 1:35.130
  12. John HUNT (SA) Kawasaki 1000 1:36.043
  13. Sloan FROST (NZ) Suzuki 1000 1:36.184
  14. Trent GIBSON (VIC) Yamaha 1000 1:36.578
  15. Mathew HARDING (NSW) Kawasaki 1000 1:36.746
  16. Mark CHIODO (VIC) Triumph 675 1:37.093
  17. Ryan HAMPTON (NZ) Suzuki 1000 1:37.116
  18. Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) Yamaha 600 1:37.326
  19. Adam CHRISTIE (SA) Yamaha 1000 1:37.368
  20. Alex PHILLIS (VIC) Honda 600 1:38.148
  21. Kyle BUCKLEY (NSW) Kawasaki 600 1:38.426
  22. James BOND 1:38.446
  23. Ted COLLINS (VIC) Suzuki 600 1:38.785
  24. Phil CZAJ (VIC) Aprilia 1000 1:38.838
  25. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC) Yamaha 600 1:38.885
  26. Phil LOVETT (NSW) Kawasaki 1000 1:38.959
  27. Mitch LEVY (NSW) Yamaha 600 1:39.270
  28. Evan BYLES (SA) Kawasaki 1000 1:39.566
  29. Kane BURNS (NSW) Suzuki 600 1:40.027
  30. Robbie MENZIES (QLD) Kawasaki 600 1:40.029
  31. Lachlan EPIS (NSW) Kawasaki 600 1:40.169
  32. Kym GROSSER Honda 1000 1:41.700
  33. Ben WHITE (VIC) Yamaha 600 1:42.085
  34. Ryan MASRI (NSW) Kawasaki 600 1:43.899
ASBK announces comprehensive 2016 prize pool

The 2016 Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK) has announced the prize money up for grabs at rounds 2-6 of this year’s ASBK series.

After a successful series in 2015, where the ASBK handed out over $10,000 per round, this year will once again reward competitors with a comprehensive prize pool, adding to what is already shaping up to be a great 2016 ASBK series.

Motorcycling Australia’s CEO David Cottee, has today shared his excitement in being able to reward the fastest riders in the country with round by round prize money.

“It is great to deliver the level of prize money which is on offer for this year’s Australian Superbike Championship,” he said.

“The ASBK aims to attract the best racers in our country, from factory riders to privateers, so it’s great to be able to see riders finishing all the way back to tenth in the Superbike, and Supersport classes, going home pocketing prize money.

“Our goal is to keep growing and developing the ASBK series, and the prize pool is an integral part of the growth of the championship, so it’s fantastic to see these types of funds on offer for 2016.”

The ASBK Superbike class will boast an impressive $3,150 up for grabs per round of the championship, with round winners set to collect $1,200, second place pocketing $700, and third position taking home $400.

The Supersport category round winner will once again take home a healthy $1000 per round, while second place will secure $600, and third will walk away with $300.

Moto3/125GP winners will take home $500 per round, while the victors of the Up to 300 Production, Over 300 Production, and Women’s Production classes will all take home $300 respectively.

2016 ASBK series Calendar
  • ·      Round 1 Phillip Island GP Circuit, WSBK, Vic    25-28 February
  • ·      Round 2 Wakefield Park Raceway, NSW             25-27 March
  • ·      Round 3 Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW             16-17 April
  • ·      Round 4 Barbagallo Raceway, WA                       3-5 June
  • ·      Round 5 Morgan Park Raceway, QLD                  5-7 August
  • ·      Round 6 Winton Motor Raceway, Vic                   30 September – 2 October