Australian Supercross 2018
Round One – Jimboomba

Justin Brayton leads home Penrite Honda 1-2

While a major crash for Aussie favourite Dean Ferris in an earlier heat race cast somewhat of a pall over main event proceedings at Jimboomba, the crowd still got to enjoy a spirited card of racing in what was the opening round of the 2018 Australian Supercross Championship.

Defending Champion Justin Brayton kicked off his title defence in commanding fashion for Penrite Honda with a dominant victory at the opening round of the Australian Supercross Championship at Jimboomba Stadium.

Justin Brayton Penrite Honda
Justin Brayton Penrite Honda

Justin Brayton qualified fastest and went on to lap the field up to and including eighth place.

Second at the series opener was Brayton’s Penrite Honda teammate Brett Metcalfe, painting Jimboomba red with a Honda 1-2.

Australian SX Rnd Jimboomba Brayton Metcalfe Team
Penrite Honda 1-2 at ASX series opener

Metcalfe was in the lead early on before he faltered and stalled his CRF450R, allowing Brayton to sweep through and run away to the win.

Australian SX Rnd Jimboomba Metcalfe Owen
Jace Owen and Brett Metcalfe battle for position

Brayton was also the only rider to lap the circuit in 49-seconds during the main event.

After a turn one mistake left him at the back of the field, KTM’s Luke Clout showed great form to blast his way through the field and up on the podium.

Dan Reardon finished fourth, 30-seconds behind the victor at the end of the 20-lap encounter.

Kawasaki’s Jace Owen was further five-seconds behind in fifth place, besting Jesse Dobson by four-seconds.  Dobson was the last man on the leading lap when the chequered flag came out.

SX1 Main Race Results

  1. Justin Brayton
  2. Brett Metcalfe +5.260
  3. Luke Clout +23.647
  4. Daniel Reardon +30.585
  5. Jace Owen +35.715
  6. Dylan Long +39.657
  7. Jesse Dobson +115.169
  8. Nick Sutherland +1 lap
  9. Jesse Madden +1 lap
  10. Robbie Marshall +1 lap
  11. Joel Wightman +1 lap
  12. Connor Tierney +2 laps
  13. Jamie Harvey +2 laps
  14. Zak Small +3 laps
  15. Josh Kilvington +3 laps
Australian SX Rnd Jimboomba Brayton Metcalfe Clout
SX1 Main Race Results
Justin Brayton
Brett Metcalfe +5.260
Luke Clout +23.647


Jay Wilson and his Yamaha Yamalube Racing YZ250F stormed to the front in the SX2 main and ran away with the race, taking a five-second victory over 21-year-old American Bradley Taft.

Australian SX Rnd Jimboomba Taft
Bradley Taft

Joshua Osby claimed third place ahead of DPH Husqvarna rider Hayden Mellross who took fourth place on his return to Australian soil after a busy year in America.

Serco Yamaha’s Jacob Hayes had a poor start which left him plenty of work to do in order to climb up through the field and finish fifth ahead of Dakota Alix and Wilson Todd.

Round two of the 2018 Australian Supercross Championship will take place in Coolum on October 6th.

SX2 Main Race Results

  1. Jay Wilson
  2. Bradley Taft +4.981
  3. Joshua Osby +7.047
  4. Hayden Mellross +11.904
  5. Jacob Hayes +14.344
  6. Dakota Alix +15.289
  7. Wilson Todd +21.295
  8. Richard Evans +22.969
  9. Dylan Wills +29.220
  10. Jackson Richardson +35.191
  11. Ricky Latimer +38.005
  12. Tomas Ravenhorst +43.104
  13. Kyle Webster +45.388
  14. Hugh McKay +46.507
  15. Bailey Malkiewicz +49.621
  16. Rhys Budd +1 lap
  17. Cooper Pozniak +1 lap
  18. Gradie Featherstone +1 lap
Australian SX Rnd Jimboomba Wilson Taft Osby
SX2 Main Race Results
Jay Wilson
Bradley Taft +4.981
Joshua Osby +7.047

2018 Australian Supercross Championship Calendar
  • Round 1 – Jimboomba, Qld – September 15
  • Round 2 – Coolum, Qld – October 6
  • Round 3 – Geelong, Vic – October 13
  • Round 4 – Port Adelaide, SA – October 20
  • Round 5 – Sydney, NSW (AUS-X Open) – November 10


Australian SX Rnd SXFinalStart Cover

2019 Australian SX Round 3 Wollongong Images | Gallery C

2019 Australian Supercross Championship Images Round Three - Wollongong, NSW - Gallery C Images by AM 
Australian SX Rnd FogartySave Cover

2019 Australian SX Round 3 Wollongong Images | Gallery B

2019 Australian Supercross Championship Images Round Three - Wollongong - Gallery B Images by AM
Wildwood Extreme Enduro Wade Young DLY

Moto News Weekly | Young wins Wildwood 2019 | ISDE

Moto News Weekly for November 12, 2019 Proudly brought to you by Dunlop GeomaxWhat happened...