Inaugural 2014 Australian Freestyle Motocross (FMX) and Australian Speed & Style Titles to be decided in Tasmania

Motorcycling Tasmania and Latrobe Speedway are combining to bring the best Freestyle Motocross Riders from across the country to Tasmania to crown the first ever Motorcycling Australia sanctioned Australian FMX and Australian Speed & Style Champions.

The event to be held at Bendigo Bank Arena in Latrobe on November 15 is the first of its kind in Australia, combining 2 types of skill.

Special guest for the event will be World Record Holder, FMX Superstar and Stuntman, Robbie Maddison.

Maddison still holds 2 world records for the longest jump on a 125cc motorcycle (2008) and the longest jump on a 250cc with a trick (2005). He is also known for his amazing stunts, jumping the fountains at Caesar’s Palace (Las Vegas), jumping onto and off of the Arc de Triomphe in Las Vegas. Backflipped over the Tower Bridge in London and did more tricks over the Conrinth Canal in Greece.

Australian FMX Legend and X Games Gold Medallist Blake ‘Bilko’ Williams has designed a multi-use track which will send the Competitors flying high for FMX, as well as provide some great racing for the Speed & Style.

The Jono Porter Award will also be presented to the winner of the Australian FMX Title. Jono Porter was one of the Pioneers of Australian Freestyle Motocross and was the first in the Country to perform the backflip. Jono was not only a FMX Rider but also a MX Racer. Jono was involved in a first corner racing incident at a round of the MX Nationals in Queensland. He passed away on June 9, 2004. He was 22 years old. He is known as Australia’s version of Travis Pastrana. To all the Competitors this just heightens their want to take out the title.

Riders will be judged by experienced FMX Originals – James ‘Bubba’ Chiasson and Kain Saul from Crusty Demons.

X Games Gold, Silver and Bronze medallist Cam Sinclair leads a group of hot Competition:

  • Cam Sinclair VIC
  • Jay Archer VIC
  • Steve Mini NSW
  • Matty McFerran QLD
  • Truman Carroll NSW
  • Jake Holloway NSW
  • Luke McNeill NSW
  • Pat Bowden NSW
  • Brayden Davies WA
  • Ryan Brown VIC
  • Harry Bink QLD
  • Daniel Coe SA
  • Brodie Markham VIC
  • Daniel Ford WA
  • Jay Woolley TAS
  • Josh Woolley TAS
  • Ben Madden TAS
  • Daniel Kistler VIC
  • Chris Camelleri VIC

*Rider line up subject to change

This event would not be possible without the assistance of Events Tasmania, Devonport City Council, CBB  Contracting, Bendigo Bank, the Latrobe Council and Motorcycling Australia.

For further information please contact: Facebook – 2014 MA Australian FMX and Speed & Style Title – Shane Fraser – Motorcycling Tasmania – 0438 568 092 or Shannon Reimann – Event Co-ordinator – 0419 008 895

Josh Sheehan
Josh Sheehan gave everything he had, defeating every opponent, including a spectacular Torres, with electrifying tricks like the double backflip and the Tsunami Flair to take out the Red Bull X Fights in 2014.