McGuinness And Jessopp To Ride PBM Ducatis At Macau Grand Prix

John McGuinness and Martin Jessopp will team up with Paul Bird Motorsport to ride the factory-backed Be Wiser Ducati Panigale Rs at the 52nd Edition Macau Grand Prix later this year.

51st running of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix
51st running of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix was in 2017

The reigning champions following Glenn Irwin’s victory last year on only his second visit to the 6.12km Circuito Da Guia aboard the TAK CHUN Racing by PBM-branded Ducati, Glenn announced following that victory that he had no plans to return, so the team has secured the services of 23-times TT winner John McGuinness for the annual race alongside BSB ace Jessopp.

Glenn Irwin leads Peter Hickman at the start of the 2017 Macau Grand Prix

Lancastrian McGuinness sampled victory for Paul Bird’s team back in 2001 and has recently returned from injury to take a win at the Classic TT so is looking forward to competing again at Macau.

McGuinness will be joined by Yeovil’s Martin Jessopp who took his debut win at this year’s North West 200 as well as posting a string of top seven results at the 2018 Isle of Man TT Races.

This year’s Macau Grand Prix takes place from 15th to 18th November.

Michael Rutter has won more Macau GPs than any other rider, here he leads in 2016


Michael Rutter - TT Zero

TT Zero electric motorcycle races canned for two years

TT Zero to have zero races in 2020/21 The TT Zero events at the Isle...
Lee Johnston Mere Hairpin Scarborough Gold Cup ImageByMarkWalters

Lee Johnston takes the spoils at Oliver’s Mount

Oliver’s Mount Scarborough Road RacesRacing returned to Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough last weekend with the Steve...
Classic TT Superbike David Johnson Win

David Johnson wins Classic TT Superbike race

2019 Classic TT  RST Superbike Classic TT RaceSouth Australian David Johnson, riding the Alistair Cowan...