Monster Energy Supercross Stats Smorgasbord – NRG Stadium, Houston

450SX Class Stats: Houston

►The first race was held on March 15, 1974, and Pierre Karsmakers won on a Yamaha

►This will be the 48th time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Houston

►Houston and Daytona are the only two original venues from the 1974 championship and have never missed a year of racing

►Houston was the site of the second ever venue to host a double-header race in 1977

►In 1978-1979, Bob Hannah swept both double-headers in consecutive seasons

►In 1981-1982 Mark Barnett became the second rider to sweep the double headers in consecutive seasons

►Jeff Ward won four consecutive races in Houston from ‘85-‘88

►KTM has never won in Houston, can Ryan Dungey or Ken Roczen change this?

►In the previous 47 races, the winner of this race has gone on to win the title 23 times

450SX Class: Wins by Brand at NRG Stadium

  1. Yamaha – 15
  2. Kawasaki – 13
  3. Honda – 11
  4. Suzuki – 6
  5. Can-Am – 2

450SX Class: First-Time Winners in Houston

  • Broc Glover – 1980
  • Jimmy Weinert – 1976
  • Trey Canard – 2011

450SX Class: St. Louis Recap

►James Stewart earned his 50th career win, his fifth of the season and third consecutive race win

►Stewart is the only rider to win three consecutive races in 2014

►Stewart used 114 starts to earn 50 450SX Class wins; Jeremy McGrath used 84 450SX Class starts to earn 50 wins

►Stewart now has 97 career AMA victories

►Stewart tied Kevin Windham for fifth on the all-time 450SX Class podium list with 75

►For the fifth time in his career, Stewart has won five 450SX Class races in a season; McGrath accomplished this feat seven times; Ricky Carmichael five; Rick Johnson and Bob Hannah four

►Ryan Villopoto earned his eighth podium of the season; it was his 59th-career 450SX Class podium

►Villopoto now has six consecutive seasons with five or more podium finishes

►Justin Barcia earned his seventh top-five finish and third podium of the season

►Roczen earned his seventh top-five finish with a fourth place

►In his first race of the season, Trey Canard earned his first top-five finish since Salt Lake City of last season

►In his sixth race of the season, Eli Tomac earned his third top-10 finish

►With a seventh place finish in St. Louis, Josh Hill has now earned three straight top-10 finishes for the first time since races 11-13 of 2010

►Andrew Short earned his 12th top-10 finish of the season with an eighth place

►For only the third time this season, and after six straight podiums,  Dungey finished outside of the top five with a ninth place

►Justin Brayton kept his top-10 streak alive with a 10-place finish; Villopoto and Brayton are the only riders to have a top-10 finish in each race this season

►Brayton has 18 consecutive top-10 finishes and is the current consecutive starts leader at 44

►Nick Wey earned his best finish of the season with an eleventh place; it was his 169th-career 450SX Class start

►Wey can tie Chad Reed at fifth on the all-time 450SX Class start list

250SX Class: Houston Stats

►The first race was held on April 20, 1985, and Eddie Warren won on a Kawasaki

►This will be the 30th time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Houston

►In 2001, Travis Preston gave Husqvarna its one and only 250SX Class win

►Windham and Christophe Pourcel are the only two 250SX Class riders to win Houston back-to-back

►Last season Blake Wharton broke a 17-season drought for Suzuki in the 250SX Class in Houston

► Roczen gave KTM their first 250SX Class win in Houston last season

►In the previous 29 races in Houston, the winner of this race has gone on to win the title 15 times

250SX Class: Wins by Brand in Houston

  1. Kawasaki – 12
  2. Suzuki – 6
  3. Yamaha – 5
  4. Honda – 4
  5. Husqvarna – 1
    KTM – 1

250SX Class: First-Time Winners in Houston

  • Willie Surate – 1986
  • Jeff Emig – 1990
  • Jimmy Gaddis – 1993
  • Shae Bentley – 2000
  • Travis Preston – 2001
  • Matt Walker – 2002
  • Austin Stroupe – 2008

250SX Class: St. Louis Recap

►After a seven-week hiatus, the Western Regional resumes this weekend

►Justin Hill earned the first 250SX Class win of his career in San Diego; it was his second podium finish

►Hill started a string of first time winners with Cianciarulo, who won in Arlington, and Davalos, who won in Atlanta

►In four consecutive races in the Western Region, there have been has been four different winners: Hill in San Diego; Dean Wilson in Anaheim 3; Jason Anderson in Oakland; Cole Seely in Anaheim 2

►Anderson earned his fourth podium of the season with a second place; he has a four-point lead over Seely with three races remaining

►Malcolm Stewart earned his second podium of the season with a third-place finish, and his brother James won the 450SX Class

►Seely earned his sixth top-five finish with a fourth place

►Shane McElrath and Jessy Nelson both earned their best finishes of the season with fifth and sixth place finishes respectively

450SX Class Laps Led

  1. James Stewart: 84
  2. Ryan Villopoto: 74
  3. Ryan Dungey: 24
  4. Chad Reed: 23
  5. Ken Roczen: 21
  6. Justin Brayton: 13
  7. Justin Barcia: 11
  8. Mike Alessi: 9
  9. Cole Seely: 1

250SX Class Laps Led

  1. Cole Seely: 52
  2. Martin Davalos: 42
  3. Adam Cianciarulo: 34
  4. Justin Hill: 20
  5. Justin Bogle: 15
  6. Blake Baggett: 14
  7. Dean Wilson: 12
  8. Jason Anderson: 6

450SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

  • Anaheim Race 1: Ryan Villopoto
  • Phoenix: Matt Moss
  • Anaheim Race 2: Ryan Dungey
  • Oakland: Vince Friese
  • Anaheim Race 3: James Stewart
  • San Diego: Andrew Short
  • Arlington: Ryan Dungey
  • Atlanta: Mike Alessi
  • Indianapolis: Mike Alessi
  • Daytona: Ryan Villopoto
  • Detroit: Cole Seely
  • Toronto: Ken Roczen
  • St. Louis: Mike  Alessi

250SX Class Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

  • Anaheim Race 1: Jason Anderson
  • Phoenix: Cooper Webb
  • Anaheim Race 2: Cooper Webb
  • Oakland: Dean Wilson
  • Anaheim Race 3: Cole Seely
  • San Diego: Dakota Tedder
  • Arlington: Adam Cianciarulo
  • Atlanta: Adam Cianciarulo
  • Indianapolis: Vince Friese
  • Daytona: Martin Davalos
  • Detroit: Martin Davalos
  • Toronto: Justin Bogle
  • St. Louis: Martin Davalos

450SX Class Fastest Qualifying Time

  • Anaheim Race 1: Justin Barcia
  • Phoenix: Ryan Villopoto
  • Anaheim Race 2: Justin Brayton
  • Oakland: Ryan Villopoto
  • Anaheim Race 3: Ryan Villopoto
  • San Diego: James Stewart
  • Arlington: Ken Roczen
  • Atlanta: James Stewart
  • Indianapolis: James Stewart
  • Daytona: Dean Wilson
  • Detroit: Ryan Villopoto
  • Toronto: James Stewart