The ultra-successful Yamaha Junior Racing program is set to continue in 2014 with a list of established junior stars and a few new names into the mix to form a potent line up for the new season .

Yamaha Junior Racing is the nation-wide development program that supports and nurtures up and coming junior motocross riders. Each state has its own team with a state manager in place to ensure the riders are surrounded by the right people and getting good advice both on and off the track.

In 2013, YJR took out two national junior championships, countless state and regional series wins and continued to be at the coal face of junior motocross development in Australia.

2014 will see 11 riders in five states, racing on Yamaha’s range of motocross weapons from the YZ85cc small wheel to the all-new YZ250F.

In South Australia, ex pro racer and Y-Aim agent Shane Metcalfe will manager Nick Day (15 years), Thomas Larwood (12years) and Alex Larwood (10years). All three riders won a SA junior MX Championship in 2013 and will be out to add to that list in 2014.

Cameron Taylor will oversee the Victorian squad of Angus Gelly (15years) and Cody Dyce(13years). Dyce was the runner up at the Australian Junior Nationals in the 12-14 years 85cc and will make the step up to the bigger bikes in 2014 while Gelly is the new face added to the team and is excited to be part of YJR.

NSW will have the services of Jordan Hill and Brendan Walther in 2014 under the supervision of Y-Aim agent Shane Booth. Hill made the move over to Yamaha and is primed to represent YJR in the 15 years division. Walther remains with the team for another season and will compete in the 13-14 years categories.

Western Australia will field a three pronged line up in 2014 with Ash Whisler taking care of the 15 years 250cc division, Jared Connor on the YZ125 and Matt Fabry mounted on a YZ85cc. Peter Strickland is the long-time mentor and manager of the WA team.

Wilson Todd will spearhead the Queensland team in his final year in juniors. Todd will compete on the YZ250F and his YZ125 in the 15 years classes. Joining him with be Levi Rogers in the 9 -11 years 85cc class. Rogers was the 2013 Central Queensland champion and is the new addition to the QLD YJR line up.

“Yamaha Junior Racing has been a huge success for Yamaha in Australia,” states Yamaha Motorsport Manager, Ray Howard. “The teams and riders do a tremendous job of representing the brand and their team sponsors and are vital to the development of up and coming racers in Australia. The teams have provided Yamaha with a constant line up of racing talent that can progress through our race team ranks.

“I look forward to another exciting season with YJR and watching these riders develop under our umbrella,” Howard ends.

2014 YJR Line Up
Nick Day -15years – YZ125/ YZ250F
Thomas Larwood – 12 years – YZ85LW
Alex Larwood – 10 years – YZ85SW
Manager: Shane Metcalfe

Angus Gelly – 15 years – YZ125/ YZ250F
Cody Dyce – 13 years – YZ85LW / YZ125
Manager: Cameron Taylor

Jordan Hill – 15 years – YZ125/ YZ250F
Brendan Walther – 14 years – YZ125/ YZ250F
Manager: Shane Booth

Liam Whisler – 15 years – YZ250F
Jared Connor – 15years – YZ125
Manager: Peter Strickland

Wilson Todd – 15 years – YZ125/ YZ250F
Levi Rogers – 10 years – YZ85SW
Manager: Scott Bishop

Wilson Todd headlines QLD YJR
Wilson Todd headlines QLD YJR
Cody Dyce continues with VIC YJR
Cody Dyce continues with VIC YJR
Nick Day will lead SA YJR
Nick Day will lead SA YJR
Liam Whisler is back for WA YJR
Liam Whisler is back for WA YJR
Brendan Walther returns for NSW YJR
Brendan Walther returns for NSW YJR