Styke, Clout and Todd the victors at Broadford MX Nationals

Styke claims maiden MX1 round win at Broadford

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Luke Styke has secured his first ever Monster Energy MX1 overall win at round three of the MX Nationals in Broadford today.

After two rounds of standing on the third step of the podium, KTM mounted Styke proved that consistency pays off – taking a moto win and a third place, to eventually claim round honors.

In a controversy packed moto one, CDR Yamaha dished out edge of your seat style racing, when teammates Daniel Reardon and Kade Mosig came together while in first and second, which saw Reardon DNF and Mosig finish in 12th.

The hardships however didn’t stop there – red plate holder Kirk Gibbs also suffered a disappointing moto one after crashing early in the race, which saw him cross the line outside of the top five in seventh position.

In moto two, the holeshot went to Penrite Honda’s Cody Cooper, however with redemption on his mind CDR Yamaha’s Daniel Reardon made the passes required to take the race lead ahead of series points leader Kirk Gibbs.

Despite Reardon holding the lead for the majority of the moto, Gibbs went into championship management mode and put in a late charge to reclaim the race lead and finish ahead of Reardon who finished second, and Styke who took third.

With the MX1 class providing a mixed bag of results, Styke’s consistency proved to pay off – finishing round three on the top step of the podium, ahead of NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Adam Monea in second, and team mate Kirk Gibbs in third.

Monster Energy MX1 round three overall winner – Luke Styke – KTM Motocross Racing Team (1st, 3rd – 65 Points)

“This win feels great and I really just couldn’t have done this without the support of the whole KTM team,” he said.

“We have all been working so hard, and I think you can see that with mine and Gibb’s results every weekend.

“We all put in the hard work during the week to make days like this happen, so it’s great that you can see it pay off.

“It’s great to get this first overall win for the team, and we’re just going to keep building from here.”

Luke Styke
Luke Styke
Monster Energy MX1 round three overall results

1) Luke Styke 65

2) Adam Monea 60

3) Kirk Gibbs 59

4) Cody Cooper 53

5) Dylan Long 49

6) John Phillips 49

7) Kale Makeham 48

8) Jesse Dobson 45

9) Cheyne Boyd 43

10) Lawson Bopping 42

Monster Energy MX1 championship points

1) Kirk Gibbs 204

2) Luke Styke 185

3) Kade Mosig 169

4) Adam Monea 159

5) Lawson Bopping 158

6) Cody Cooper 151

7) Dylan Long 144

8) Jesse Dobson 140

9) Kale Makeham 135

10) Daniel Reardon 124

Two from two for Clout at round three

Serco Yamaha’s Luke Clout has taken two wins from two motos and defended his MX2 red plate, in an action packed round three of the MX Nationals at Broadford today.

On a circuit prepared well enough to rival the 2000 MX GP, Clout dominated the Motul MX2 class, claiming his first clean sweep for 2015.

After qualifying in number one position Clout kicked off his round three campaign in spectacular fashion, taking the first moto win for the day ahead of JCR Yamaha’s Jay Wilson in second, and fellow Serco pilot Jed Beaton who took third.

In race two the Clout show continued.

Despite the holeshot being claimed by Penrite Honda Wilson MX athlete Geran Stapleton, Clout once again took a commanding race lead to finish in number one position, followed by teammate Beaton and Kawasaki mounted Takeshi Katsuya who crossed the line in second and third respectively.

With Clout claiming both race wins, the thrills and spills came from the action happening behind him. Jay Wilson copping two in race penalties which saw him relegated to 15th in moto two, while Luke Arbon (SD3 Husqvarna) and Wade Hunter were also victims of penalties in race two, which saw their overall results take hits today.

At the conclusion of the round however, it was once again Serco Yamaha’s Clout on the top step, sharing the podium with teammate Jed Beaton who claimed second overall, followed by Takeshi Katsuya (Kawasaki) who claimed third for the round.

Motul MX2 round three overall winner – Luke Clout– Serco Yamaha (1st, 1st – 70 Points)

“Broadford was prepared very well today, and that’s the reason why we saw such good racing,” he said.

“Today was definitely a good day for me taking two wins. It’s the first ever double race win for me so I’m stoked.

“We have worked on my starts and it’s showing. Two top five starts and into the lead in the first few laps is what I need to be doing.

“I have a 20 point lead in the championship now so I’m just going to take this three week break to work hard and come out swinging at Murray Bridge.”

Luke Clout
Luke Clout
Motul MX2 round three overall results

1) Luke Clout 70

2) Jed Beaton 62

3) Takeshi Katsuya 58

4) Geran Stapleton 53

5) Wade Hunter 50

6) Jay Wilson 48

7) Dylan Leary 44

8) Riley Graham 44

9) Hamish Harwood 44

10) Joel Wightman 42

Motul MX2 championship points

1) Luke Clout 200

2) Jed Beaton 180

3) Jay Wilson 175

4) Takeshi Katsuya 171

5) Wade Hunter 145

6) Dylan Wills 129

7) Hamish Harwood 126

8) Dylan Leary 119

9) Luke Arbon 115

10) Riley Graham 113

GYTR Yamaha’s Wilson Todd continues to shine at Broadford

GYTR Yamaha rider Wilson Todd has claimed his second overall round win and continues to hold on to the MXD red plate, after a successful outing at Broadford today.

On one of the toughest tracks on the 2015 MX Nationals calendar Todd took the day in his stride, doing exactly what needed to be done in order to maintain his Pirelli MXD championship lead.

In moto one, the holeshot was taken by Raceline Pirelli Suzuki’s newest addition Jesse Madden, with Todd following closely behind. However, two laps was all that was required for Todd to claim the race lead, eventually crossing the line first ahead of Madden, and Yamaha mounted Jonte Reynders.

GYTR’s Mitch Evans who made his return to racing today after injury, made an early exit from the competition, crashing out of race one and failing to return to the track.

In moto two, Madden’s Suzuki machine was once again first into turn one, this time ahead of KTM’s Wade Carter and Kaleb Barham (KTM).

By the time the chequered flag flew on race two, Carter secured the second moto race win ahead of Jayden Rykers (KTM) and Todd who claimed third.

Thankfully third was all Todd required from the final moto in order to secure the round overall – the GYTR Yamaha rider finishing on the top step of the podium, ahead of Carter and Madden respectively.

Pirell MXD round three overall winner – Wilson Todd– GYTR Yamaha (1st, 3rd – 65 Points)

“The aim of today was to stay consistent and just build on the points championship every round,” he said.

“Race wins are important but taking overalls is what I’m here for and I’m just continuing to work on the championship.

“We have a three week break now so I’m just going to put in some more laps, plenty of training and see what we can do at Murray Bridge.”

Wilson Todd
Wilson Todd
Pirelli MXD round three overall results

1) Wilson Todd 65

2) Wayde Carter 61

3) Jesse Madden 58

4) Jayden Rykers 56

5) Kaleb Barham 56

6) Lachlan Davis 47

7) Connor Tierney 46

8) Jonte Reynders 46

9) Bailey Coxon 44

10) Toby Stevens 41

Pirelli MXD championship points

1) Wilson Todd 158

2) Jesse Madden 132

3) Toby Stevens 123

4) Connor Tierney 122

5) Kaleb Barham 122

6) Wayde Carter 122

7) Bailey Coxon 118

8) Jonte Reynders 111

9) Jayden Rykers 111

10) Ryan Shadbolt 97