2017 ISDE Teams Announced
Junior Trophy ISDE 2016 - Image by Jake Miller
Junior Trophy ISDE 2016 – Image by Jake Miller

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced the Australian Teams that will contest three world championship trophies at the prestigious International Six Day Enduro Championship (ISDE) held in Brive, France on 28th August to the 2nd September.

ISDE 2016 - Image by Jake Miller
ISDE 2016 – Image by Jake Miller

On the back of Australian Team success of previous years, the 2017 Trophy teams are preparing to head to France where they will come up against 32 rival nations. A total of ten riders will make up three Trophy Teams, donning the green and gold, representing Australia at the highest level in Enduro and Off-Road racing.

The Australian ISDE 2016 team.
The Australian ISDE 2016 team.

With some of the most talented Off-Road riders in the world calling Australia home, this year’s Senior Trophy Team will be comprised of Matthew Phillips, Daniel Milner, Joshua Green and Daniel Sanders.

Josh Green
Josh Green

Sherco Factory Racing rider, Matthew Phillips and Red Bull KTM team rider Daniel Sanders are both currently competing in the EnduroGP in Europe. Phillips is an accomplished rider on the world scene.

Matthew Phillips
Matthew Phillips won the second round of the 2017 EnduroGP series recently

Daniel ‘Chucky’ Sanders will be riding in his first year of a two-year deal to ride in Europe.

Daniel Sanders in action recently in the World Enduro Championship
Daniel Sanders in action recently in the World Enduro Championship

KTM mounted, Daniel Milner and Active8 Yamaha Yamalube rider, Joshua Green currently battling it out for the E2 title in the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC), Milner the current point’s leader in the class.

Daniel Milner
Daniel Milner

The Australian Women’s World Trophy Team will be gunning for a sensational fifth consecutive victory at ISDE, and will field a powerhouse unchanged from 2016. The Women’s Team is made up of Tayla Jones, Jemma Wilson and Jessica Gardiner for the 2017 campaign. 

Jemma Wilson, Jessica Gardiner and Tayla Jones - Mad Dog Images
Jemma Wilson, Jessica Gardiner and Tayla Jones – Mad Dog Images

They will set out to create further history with the same team for a fifth year in a row.

Jemma Wilson, Jessica Gardiner and Tayla Jones - Mad Dog Images
Jessica Gardiner, Jemma Wilson and Tayla Jones won the 2016 ISDE Women’s World Trophy – Mad Dog Images

The Junior Trophy Team will have two new comers to the ‘Six-Day’ scene. Active8 Yamaha Yamalube rider, Wil Ruprecht as well as KTM Enduro Race Team rider, Lyndon Snodgrass. Joining them will be KTM mounted young-gun, Jack Simpson. Simpson debuting in the team in 2016. All three of these riders, have shown their ability to compete at an elite level in the 2017 AORC. Ruprecht and Snodgrass will debut in what will be their first international event, the 2017 ISDE.

Australian Team Manager Don Atkins

“This will be the fortieth ISDE for Australian Teams entered under an Australian Federation, the first team having competed in Czechoslovakia in 1977 as previous teams were entered under the “Great British Federation”  We were last in Brive (France) for the ISDE in 2001. There were some very good results in France that year, with the Australian Trophy Team winning a few of the days. There are some significant goals to achieve at this years’ event, and the selected Teams are capable of achieving the highest results.’ 

Wil Ruprecht
Wil Ruprecht

A full list of the 2017 ISDE Championship competing Senior and Junior teams can be seen below:

Senior Trophy Team

  • Joshua Green
  • Daniel Milner
  • Matthew Phillips
  • Daniel Sanders
  • Non Traveling Reserve: Lachlan Stanford

Women Trophy Team

  • Jessica Gardiner
  • Tayla Jones
  • Jemma Wilson

Junior Trophy Team

  • Jack Simpson
  • Lyndon Snodgrass
  • Wil Ruprecht

Team Manager – Don Atkins
Jury Member – Chris Gray