ASBK 2018 – Round Six – Winton

YMI Superbike

Images by TBG

Wayne Maxwell started proceedings on Saturday at Winton the way he had finished them up on Friday, on top of the timesheets.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Wayne Maxwell TBG
Wayne Maxwell – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

In QP1 the YRT #47 put in a 1m20.388, fractionally slower than his Friday best of 1m20.351, but still good enough to take provisional pole ahead of ASBK Championship leader Troy Herfoss. The Honda man setting a best of 1m20.568 on the fifth of his six laps.

The big improver on Saturday morning was BCperformance Kawasaki’s Bryan Staring. The West Australian was sixth quickest on Friday on a best of 1m21.577 but lopped almost a full-second off that marker this morning to finish QP1 in third place on the back of a 1m20.753.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Bryan Staring TBG
Bryan Staring – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

Josh Waters put in a best of 1m20.826 in QP1 to be fourth quickest ahead of Troy Bayliss (1m20.890) and Daniel Falzon (1m21.072). Mark Chiodo (1m21.521) was seventh ahead of fellow Suzuki rider Alex Phillis (1m21.685), while Jamie Stauffer slotted Craig McMartin’s Ducati Panigale R into ninth spot. Arthur Sissis rounded out the provisional top ten ahead of Ted Collins and Matt Walters.

YMI Superbike Final Quaifying got underway on schedule at 1500 this afternoon.

Josh Waters was the first of the front runners to improve their standing in QP2, the defending champion dropping in a 1m20.553 on his fourth lap to move up to second on combined times.

Troy Bayliss moved up the order to fourth after wrestling the DesmoSport Ducati to a 1m20.613. Bayliss then improved to a 1m20.485 to push Waters back to third place, he then went faster again, a 1m20.425.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Troy Bayliss TBG
Troy Bayliss – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

With ten minutes left in the session Herfoss was still to record a fast lap, and had only made three laps of the circuit before returning to the pits.

With seven-minutes remaining Herfoss then shot to the top of the charts with a 1m20.160. Maxwell instantly responded, 0.132 under at the first split, a slender 0.051 over at the second, but just failed to knock Herfoss from top spot, a 1m20.278 that time around to the YRT man.

Bayliss then improved again, a 1m20.333, but both Maxwell and Herfoss were again on flyers, both under their previous best through the first two splits, but marginally outside the third sector benchmark and then failing to improve.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Wayne Maxwell TBG
Wayne Maxwell – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

Four minutes to run and Maxwell was still pumping out fast laps in succession, under again at the second split but losing a lot of time on the third and again failing to better that 1m20.278 he set on his seventh lap.

Both Maxwell and Herfoss determined to claim that single but important championship point for pole. With two minutes to go it was still Herfoss on top…

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Josh Waters TBG
Josh Waters – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

When the chequered flag came out Josh Waters was on his final flier… But despite a determined effort the Suzuki failed to improve and will head the second row.

Troy Herfoss takes that championship point to extend his series lead over Maxwell to 45.5-points. The pole lap a 1m20.160 to Maxwell’s 20.278. TB very much in the game and starting from the front row after clocking plenty of quick times, the best of which was a 1m20.333.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Troy Herfoss TBG
Troy Herfoss – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

Bryan Staring was fifth quickest to make it five different manufacturers in the top five grid positions for tomorrow’s 2 x 16-lap bouts.

Arthur Sissis was a brilliant sixth quickest, the South Australian recently operating with some assistance under the Penrite Honda tent and obviously finding the change to his liking.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Daniel Falzon TBG
Daniel Falzon – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

Daniel Falzon heads the third row alongside Mark Chiodo and Jamie Stauffer while Ted Collins rounded out the top ten ahead of Alex Phillis, Kyle Buckley and Matt Walters.

The first of tomorrow’s two YMI Superbike races is scheduled to get underway at 1110 with the second contest slated for 1345. If after the second of those 16-lap bouts Herfoss has earned six more points from the Winton round than Maxwell, he could be crowned 2018 ASBK Champion with a round still remaining. But this is motorcycle racing, anything can happen, and probably will! Tune in to Fox or SBS tomorrow to watch it all unfold live or get out to Winton and be part of the atmosphere yourself.

ASBK TBG Rnd Winton Troy Herfoss TBG
Troy Herfoss – Winton Park ASBK 2018 – Image by TBG

Winton Saturday Provisional Classification Superbike

  1. Troy HERFOSS – Honda CBR RR SP – 1:20.160
  2. Wayne MAXWELL – Yamaha YZF-R1 – 1:20.278
  3. Troy BAYLISS – Ducati Final Edition – 1:20.333
  4. Josh WATERS – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:20.348
  5. Bryan STARING – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:20.753
  6. Arthur SISSIS – Honda CBR RR SP – 1:20.821
  7. Daniel FALZON – Yamaha YZF-R1 – 1:21.072
  8. Mark CHIODO – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:21.237
  9. Jamie STAUFFER – Ducati Panigale R – 1:21.533
  10. Ted COLLINS – BMW S RR – 1:21.663
  11. Alex PHILLIS – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:21.685
  12. Kyle BUCKLEY – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:21.811
  13. Matt WALTERS – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:22.036
  14. Mitch REES – Honda CBR RR SP – 1:22.361
  15. Mitch LEVY – Yamaha YZF-R1 – 1:22.469
  16. Glenn SCOTT – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:22.943
  17. Corey TURNER – Honda CBR RR – 1:23.129
  18. Sloan FROST – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:23.930
  19. Mason COOTE – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:24.229
  20. Adam SENIOR – Yamaha YZF-R1 – 1:24.268
  21. Yannis SHAW – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:24.332
  22. Phil CZAJ – Aprilia RSV4 RFW – 1:24.337
  23. Brendan McINTYRE – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:24.476
  24. Heath GRIFFIN – Ducati Panigale – 1:25.472
  25. Patrick Jun LI – Yamaha YZF-R1 – 1:25.621
  26. Nathan SPITERI – Suzuki GSX-RR – 1:25.818
  27. Evan BYLES Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:26.427
  28. Hamish McMURRAY – Kawasaki ZX10R – 1:28.498
  29. Brian KOZAN – BMW S RR – 1:29.199

ASBK Championship Points Standings

  1. Troy Herfoss 257.5
  2. Wayne Maxwell 212
  3. Troy Bayliss 194
  4. Daniel Falzon 186
  5. Josh Waters 185.5
  6. Bryan Staring 171.5
  7. Alex Phillis 127
  8. Glenn Allerton 124
  9. Matt Walters 112
  10. Mark Chiodo 83.5
  11. Arthur Sissis 79.5
  12. Kyle Buckley 72.5
  13. Ted Collins 65
  14. Mitch Levy 65
  15. Michael Blair 63
  16. Mitch Rees 61.5
  17. Corey Turner 60
  18. Jamie Stauffer 60
  19. Glenn scott 39
  20. Aaron Morris 37


Josh Hayes Image Russell Colvin Cover

Hayes to race ASBK opener on Addicted to Track Team YZF-R1

Josh Hayes joins ASBK season opener at Phillip Island One of America’s all-time Superbike greats...
ASBK Test Phillip Island RbMotoLens ASBK Test SBK Wayne Maxwell

Boost Mobile Racing officially launch ASBK assault

Boost Mobile Racing with K-Tech set sights on ASBK Boost Mobile Racing with K-Tech have...
GTR MotoStars Team for

Stauffer and McDonald to GTR MotoStars Team for 2020

2020 GTR MotoStars Team Announced A new team will make its Australian racing debut in...