ASBK 2019 Classes Announced

With Yamaha stepping away from being the overall naming right sponsors of the ASBK series as a whole, and no other company as yet stepping up to take over that mantle, Motorcycling Australia have put their own name to the overall series which is now to be known as the ‘Motorcycling Australia’s National Road Racing Championships’.

Motorcycling Australia has also this week officially confirmed the classes that will make up the 2019 Australian Superbike Championship in season 2019.

MotoGP ASBK Supports TBG Supersport Race Bayliss
Supersport 300 – Oli Bayliss leading the pack here but we believe he will step up to the Supersport 600 category for season 2019

Yamaha are still major naming rights sponsors of various categories such as YMI Superbike, YMF R3 Cup and the bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup.

Kawasaki have taken up sponsorship once again of the Supersport category.

ASBK Rnd Phillip Island RM SS Parc Ferme Bikes
Kawasaki will again sponsor the Australian Supersport category

The YMI Superbike, Kawasaki Supersport and Supersport 300 categories will race at all seven rounds of the 2019 ASBK Championship, including the season opener staged in conjunction with the World Superbike Champonship round at Phillip Island in late February.

ASBK TBG Rnd Phillip Island Superbike Start
YMI Superbike Race One at Phillip Island in 2018 – TBG Image

The YMF R3 Cup will race at round two, four, five, six and seven.  The all new bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup will see a grid full of budding hopefuls joining the ASBK paddock at the same rounds as the YMF R3 Cup, Wakefield, Morgan Park, Winton, Phillip Island and the Sydney Motorsports Park season finale.

ASBK Rnd Phillip Island TBG R Cup Hunter Ford
YMF R3 Cup 2018 Champion – Hunter Ford – Image by TBG

Sidecars will again join the schedule, this year at rounds two, five and six.

The trip down memory lane via the Superbike Masters will also continue with showings at Morgan Park and Sydney Motorsports Park.

2019 ASBK Calendar
  • Official ASBK Test – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC February 2 – 3
  • Round 1- WSBK – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC February 21 – 24
  • Round 2- Wakefield Park Raceway – Goulburn NSW March 22 – 24
  • Round 3- The Bend Motorsport Park – Tailem Bend, SA April 26 – 28
  • Round 4- Morgan Park Raceway – Warwick, QLD July 5 – 7
  • Round 5- Winton Motor Raceway – Benalla, VIC September 6 – 8
  • Round 6- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC October 4 – 6
  • Round 7- Sydney Motorsport Park – Eastern Creek, NSW November 1 – 3


RoundLocationDateSBKSSPTSSP300R3 CupOCE J CupSidecarsMasters
ASBK Test Phillip Isl2-3 FebXXXXX
Round 1Phillip Isl21-24 FebXXX
Round 2Wakefield22-24 MarXXXXXX
Round 3The Bend26-28 AprXXX
Round 4Morgan P5-7 JulXXXXXX
Round 5Winton6-8 SepXXXXXX
Round 6Phillip Isl4-6 OctXXXXXX
Round 7Eastern C1-3 NovXXXXXX


Troy Herfoss tops ASBK Friday practice at Wakefield Park

2019 ASBK Round Two - Wakefield Park Friday WrapThe YRT pairing of Daniel Falzon and Cru Halliday topped FP1 at Wakefield Park in dry and warming...

ASBK heads to Wakefield Park for Round Two | Form Guide

2019 ASBK Round Two Preview With Mark BracksThe first enthralling round of the 2019 Australian Superbike Championship is but a memory - a vivid one...