Yamaha Motor Finance ASBK 2017 – Round Six – Sydney Motorsports Park
2017 ASBK content brought to you by Dunlop Motorcycle Tyres
Wayne Maxwell tops first practice at Sydney Motorsports Park

Images by TBG

Free Practice for the penultimate round of the 2017 Australian Superbike Championship at Sydney Motorsports Park this morning under a fine and sunny sky. 

Robbie Bugden's BCperformance ZX-10R awaits the action at Sydney Motorsports Park this morning - Image by TBG
Robbie Bugden’s BCperformance ZX-10R awaits the action at Sydney Motorsports Park this morning – Image by TBG

First out of the blocks this morning were Yamaha Motor Finance R3 Cup competitors for a 15-minute session immediately followed by a 25-minute term for Supersport 600. 

Tommy Edwards topped the R3 Cup session ahead of Broc Pearson, Jack Mahaffy and Corey Briffa. That last duo both fell heavily at Morgan Park and will be eager to stay out of trouble this weekend in Sydney.

Yamaha Motor Finance R3 Cup FP1 Results
  1. Tom Edwards 1m48.369
  2. Broc Pearson 1m49.218
  3. Jack Mahaffy 1m49.621
  4. Corey Briffa 1m49.710
  5. Locky Taylor 1m51.592

Motul Supersport

23-riders took to the track for Supersport FP1 and it was Mark Chiodo that proved the pacesetter on the Triumph Daytona 675R ahead of Aaron Morris, who was making his return to competition after laying low throughout most of season 2017. Tom Toparis was third quickest ahead of Championship leader Ted Collins. It is highly likely that 18-year-old Collins will clinch the #1 plate in the Motul sponsored Supersport 600 category this weekend, such is his hefty 68-point buffer in the series standings over Mason Coote. 

Motul Supersport FP1 Results
  1. Mark CHIODO Triumph Daytona 1:35.514
  2. Aaron MORRIS Yamaha YZF-R6 1:35.859
  3. Tom TOPARIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1:35.990
  4. Ted COLLINS Suzuki GSX-R 1:37.157
  5. Chris QUINN Yamaha YZF-R6 1:37.365
  6. Hayden SPINKS Kawasaki ZX6R 1:37.422
  7. Sam CONDON Yamaha YZF-R6 1:37.534
  8. Jordan CARLSSON Yamaha YZF-R6 1:37.774
  9. Mason COOTE Yamaha YZF-R6 1:38.177
  10. Cambridge OLIVIER Yamaha YZF-R6 1:38.179

Hi-Tec Batteries Supersport 300

The sensational Supersport 300 category hit the track for their opening practice session at 0950 this morning and Yanni Shaw was quick to display his pace, getting straight down to 1m47s. 

In the second session it was young Billy Van Eerde setting the pace on the KTM with a 1m45.396 head of Jack Mahaffy and Tom Edwards

Hi-Tec Batteries Supersport 300 FP2 Results
  1. Billy Van Eerde 1m45.396
  2. Jack Mahaffy 1m46.115
  3. Tom Edwards 1m46.181
  4. Yanni Shaw 1m46.182
  5. Brandon Demmery 1m46.396
  6. Zac Levy 1m46.430
  7. Reid Battye 1m46.436
  8. Oli Bayliss 1m46.482
  9. Max Croker 1m46.729
  10. Broc Pearson 1m46.760

YMI Superbike

Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship points leader Wayne Maxwell signalled his intent by topping the opening 30-minute practice session at Eastern Creek this morning.

Wayne Maxwell
Wayne Maxwell

On a track temperatures climbing past 30-degrees Maxwell put in 12 laps, the best of which came on lap nine with a 1m31.801 to head Josh Waters who crossed the stripe with a best of 1m32.221 in the opening session.

Josh Waters
Josh Waters

Morgan Park pole man and race two winner Cru Halliday was third quickest ahead of Glenn Allerton. The YRT man continues to return from terrible arm injuries sustained at Wakefield Park early in the year but proved he has good pace here at his home circuit with a 1m32.382.

Early series leader Daniel Falzon posted the fifth quickest time on the JD Racing Yamaha displacing defending champion Troy Herfoss who circulated the 3.93km circuit in a best of 1m32.587.

Daniel Falzon
Daniel Falzon

Robbie Bugden holds the qualifying lap record here on a 1m29.8 on a Suzuki but the five-time NZ Superbike Champion could only post a 1m32.944 this morning just ahead of Josh Hook, who makes a return to the series on a Ducati. 

Michael Blair was ninth quickest while Honda’s Bryan Staring rounded out the top ten ahead of Beau Beaton and Alex Phillis. 

YMI Superbike FP1 Results
  1. Wayne Maxwell 1m31.801
  2. Josh Waters 1m32.221
  3. Cru Halliday 1m32.289
  4. Glenn Allerton 1m32.382
  5. Daniel Falzon 1m32.431
  6. Troy Herfoss 1m32.587
  7. Robbie Bugden 1m32.944
  8. Josh Hook 1m32.990
  9. Michael Blair 1m33.012
  10. Bryan Staring 1m33.132
  11. Beau Beaton 1m33.140
  12. Alex Phillis 1m33.492
  13. Corey Turner 1m33.561
  14. Lachlan Epis 1m33.627
  15. Matt Walters 1m33.688
  16. Matt Harding 1m34.255
  17. Mitch Levy 1m34.628
  18. Sloan Frost 1m34.973
  19. Kyle Buckley 1m35.264
  20. Troy Guenther 1m35.779