Dan Reardon wins Adelaide Supercross – Jimmy Decotis wins SX2

Dan Reardon wins Adelaide Supercross
Dan Reardon wins Adelaide Supercross

After a seven year absence, world-class Supercross made a triumphant return to Adelaide Showground on Saturday night for the Energy Logistix third round of the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship presented by Penrite Oils.

As a huge fireworks display lit the night sky to cap a memorable night’s entertainment, CDR Yamaha rider Dan Reardon and Penrite Honda Racing’s Jimmy Decotis wore the biggest smiles of all after capturing the SX1 and SX2 finals respectively.

However both Reardon and Decotis had to work hard to take their victories, each having to stage dramatic come-from-behind rides to grab the chequered flag in races that had the Adelaide crowd on their feet and cheering .

In the SX1 class, championship leader Reardon marked his turf from the outset of the evening’s action, winning both SX1 heat races and the Dash for Cash shoot-out to firmly stamp his favourtism for the Final.

But when the gate dropped on the SX1 main event it was NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing rider Adam Monea who grabbed the holeshot and lead the opening laps before Reardon steamrolled past.

Soon after, however, Reardon stalled his bike in a corner, allowing Monea and reigning champion Matt Moss (Motul Suzuki) through to set the stage for a three-way battle for the lead as a fast restarting Reardon set sail after them.

Moving into the mid stages of the race, Moss made the front running as Reardon charged closer and closer in second, the arch rivals ultimately banging bars once again, just as they did at the previous round of the Championship at Jimboomba two weekends ago.

Reardon eventually gained the upper hand – as he did at Jimboomba – with Moss holding tight in second, as hometown favourite and special guest competitor for the event, Brett Metcalfe (SD3 Husqvarna) turned on a stunning late-race charge that saw him move ever closer to the front running duo.

In the end, Metcalfe made his move past Moss for second, and while for a time it looked like a fairytale result for Mannum’s favourite international motocrossing son might have been on the cards, Reardon held sway at the front and took his second straight round win, with Metcalfe second and Moss completing the podium.

Behind the front running SX1 trio, Kade Mosig (CDR Yamaha) and Monea rounded out the top five finishers.

Adelaide Supercross - Kade Mosig
Adelaide Supercross – Kade Mosig

For Reardon, the Queenslander was obviously rapt to snare such an exciting race win, and in the process firmly keep hold of the red number plate as Championship leader ahead of Moss.

“That was an awesome race,” Reardon beamed from atop the podium.

“But it was tough, with so much pressure all the way through the whole race, so I was just rapt I could charge all the way to the finish, as that made all the difference in the end.

“Now we’ve got a couple of weeks break in the Championship and then we head back to Jimboomba for the next round, which is back in Queensland where I’m from and I just can’t wait for it.”

As runner-up, Metcalfe was similarly delighted with his performance, and in particular stoked by the massive support shown by the partisan South Australian crowd.

Brett Metcalfe
Brett Metcalfe

“What a homecoming!” Metcalfe cried as he stepped up to the podium after the race, the Adelaide crowd cheering his every move.

“The last time I raced here at Adelaide Showground was 1999, so I’m showing my age a little.

“But wow, that main event tonight was something special. I could hear the crowd yelling all the way though and the atmosphere was just awesome.

“The fans have been so good all week here in Adelaide and I so much want to be back again next year, it’s just been a great event.”

For third placed Moss, the Adelaide result means he has dropped a handful more points to Championship leader Reardon, but the two-time defending champion remains resolute about defending his number one plate.

“There’s no doubt the other boys have got some good speed going and it’s a really tough contest this year,” Moss said.

“But all this close racing is really good for the sport and for me it means I’ve just got to work harder now and come out swinging at the next round of the Championship.”

Adelaide Supercross - SX1 Podium - Dan Reardon won from Brett Metcalfe and Matt Moss
Adelaide Supercross – SX1 Podium – Dan Reardon won from Brett Metcalfe and Matt Moss

With Reardon and Moss all set to continue their rivalry for top honours in the SX1 class, round four at Jimboomba, Queensland, on November 21 promises to be an absolute corker.

Meanwhile in the SX2 category, American star Decotis might have snared his third straight win in as many rounds, but the Adelaide victory was his toughest one yet.

Local SD3 Husqvarna rider Luke Arbon holeshot the SX2 final, but Serco Yamaha gun Luke Clout was soon able to take over the front running, and held the lead through the first half of the race.

Home town rider Luke Arbon scored the holeshot
Home town rider Luke Arbon scored the holeshot

Behind Clout, Decotis was making his move through the pack, the American passing Penrite Honda WIlson MX rider Jackson Richardson to take second and then set off after the leader.

Pouring on the pressure, Decotis ultimately made a pass stick and slipped by Clout in the latter stages of the race, to go on and maintain his unbeaten streak in the Championship.

Clout finished second with Richardson third, while Dylan Wills (Newcastle KTM) and Arbon rounded out the top five SX2 placings.

“That was a really good race,” enthused Decotis after the event.

“My fitness really came into play tonight and I felt really strong at the end of the event, which helped to make a difference.

“To win three in a row is just awesome and I have to pay thanks to all the crew in the Penrite Honda Racing team for all the support they have given me, it’s just been awesome.”

For runner-up Clout, the Adelaide race was a strong performance, but Decotis continues to hold the upper hand when it matters most.

“That was  a great race and I was really happy with my race pace early, but we still have to work a little harder and lift the bar a little higher,” Clout said.

“We’ve got a couple of weeks break to the next round, so we will just keep working away at it.”

In the SXD class, the Adelaide event saw Brock McLeary (Raceline Suzuki) take the round win, ahead of round one winner Mitch Evans (GYTR Yamaha) and Trent Wheatley (Mathews Motorcycles Honda).

With the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship now reaching its halfway stage, the remaining three rounds will be absolutely critical, kicking off with round four back at Jimboomba, Queensland, on November 21.

Round three Results – Adelaide

1st Daniel Reardon (Yamaha YZ450F)

2nd Brett Metcalfe

3rd Matt Moss

4th Kade Mosig (Yamaha YZ450F)

5th Adam Monea

6th Lawson Bopping

7th Daniel McCoy

8th Luke Styke

9th James Booth- Elliot

10th Danny Ham

Championship Standings – After Round Four (unofficial)

1st Daniel Reardon – 102 (CDR Yamaha)

2nd Matt Moss – 95

3rd Kade Mosig – 82 (CDR Yamaha)

4th Adam Monea – 79

5th Lawson Bopping – 73

6th Daniel McCoy – 68

7th Luke Styke – 68

8th Danny Ham – 56

9th Kirk Gibbs – 54

10th Gavin Faith – 54

Adelaide Supercross - Kaleb Barham
Adelaide Supercross – Kaleb Barham
Adelaide Supercross - Luke Styke
Adelaide Supercross – Luke Styke
Adelaide Supercross - Dylan Wills
Adelaide Supercross – Dylan Wills
2015 Australian Supercross Championship
  • Round 1: October 10, Bathurst, NSW
  • Round 2: October 17, Jimboomba, Queensland
  • Round 3: October 31, Adelaide Showground, Wayville, South Australia
  • Round 4: November 21, Jimboomba, Queensland
  • Round 5: November 28, Allphones Arena, Homebush, NSW
  • Round 6: December 5, Knights Stadium, Sunshine, Victoria