KTM 450 Rally 2014
KTM 450 Rally 2014

KTM goes to the Dakar 2014 with a new team structure, a brand new KTM 450 Rally bike and the determination to fight for a thirteenth title in the world’s toughest rally. Marc Coma of Spain leads the Red Bull KTM Factory Team’s title chase and is going for his fourth victory. Also in the factory team are Portugal’s Ruben Faria, Jordi Villadoms of Spain and Chaleco Lopez of Chile.

While the team was dealt a blow in November with the death of long-time KTM rider Kurt Caselli, they all go to the 2014 edition determined to honor his memory. Caselli was drafted into the factory lineup for 2013 after Coma was ruled out because of a shoulder injury and had a brilliant debut ride.

Marc Coma coming off a strong season – Coma bounced back from injury in 2013 to win the first three rounds of the World Cross Country Rallies Championship and finish the series second overall. When preparing for the Dakar, he underlined that full factory support and fitness were essential when conditions were so extreme. “It is important to take care of your body because the race is very long and very hard. I expect that this will be a very open Dakar. The other factories are coming up and it looks like it is going to be very interesting.”

New team structure, new bike – The factory riders have the all-new KTM 450 Rally bike as their weapon of choice and the team has both experience and depth. Coma has impeccable credentials. Faria, long time support rider for Cyril Despres, finished second in the 2013 edition behind his former teammate, while Lopez was third to complete an all-KTM podium. The Chilean is a tough and talented rider and is particularly at home in the Atacama Desert. KTM Team Manager Alex Doringer says that while going for the overall Dakar win is a given, when competitors cross the finish line in Valparaiso, he would like to see Lopez on the podium in front of his home crowd. “I have a good feeling for the motorcycle, the mechanics and the team. With the factory team we get good support and good material and that is very important for me. The Dakar is very hard,” Lopez said.

Villadoms, a late entry to the team, will be Coma’s support rider. He is an experienced Dakar competitor and was in the KTM factory team from 2006 to 2010. His best result came in 2012 when he finished fourth overall.

Longer, Higher, Tougher – Dakar organizers say the rally will be “longer, higher and tougher” in 2014. It starts in Rosario in Argentina on January 5 and riders encounter the first of two marathon stages (no mechanical assistance overnight) as early as Stage Three. They enter Bolivia for the first time after the January 11 rest day to face new terrain, including the giant salt flats in Uyuni. This is the second marathon stage so preservation of tires and machines will be important. Riders get their first glimpse of the Pacific at Iquique at the end of Stage Eight, which is also the most northerly point of this year’s rally. They then face the challenging Atacama Desert as they head south to the finish in Valparaiso, Chile, on January 18, 2014.

KTM has won the Dakar Rally every year since its breakthrough year in 2001, a statistic that also sets the factory team up as the most hunted in the history of the rally. There was no Dakar Rally in 2008 because of security concerns in North Africa.

KTM supported-rider – As well as the four-rider factory team, KTM also supports Jakub (Kuba) Przygonski of Poland (Orlen Team), South African Riaan van Niekerk (Broadlink KTM Rally Team), and Australian Ben Grabham (KTM Australia).

KTM Customer Service – As always, KTM will also be at the Dakar with equipment, spares and expertise to support privateers who have signed up for the full KTM Customer Service package. This year they number around 40 and for many of them it is the adventure of a lifetime and a chance to compete with the sport’s elite.

Dakar 2014
Starts: Sunday, Jan. 5 – Rest Day: Saturday Jan. 11 – Finishes: Saturday, Jan. 18
Individual Stages
Stage 1: Rosario to San Luis – 629 km liaison, 180 km special = 809 km (Longest in km)
Stage 2: San Luis to San Rafael – 365 km liaison, 359 km special = 724 km
Stage 3: San Rafael to San Juan – 292 km liaison, 373 km special = 665 km (First marathon stage)
Stage 4: San Juan to Chilecito – 210 km liaison, 353 km special = 563 km
Stage 5: Chilecito to Tucuman – 384 km liaison, 527 km special = 527 km
Stage 6: Tucuman to Salta – 64 km liaison, 400 km special = 464 km Rest Day: Salta
Stage 7: Salta to Salta/Uyuni – 373 km liaison, 409 km special = 782 km 
(Second marathon stage)
Stage 8: Salta/Uyuni to Calama – 230 liaison, 462 km special = 692 km
Stage 9: Calama to Iquique – 29 km liaison, 422 km special = 451 km
Stage 10: Iquique to Antofagasta – 58 km liaison, 631 km special = 689 km
Stage 11: Antofagasta to El Salvador – 144 km liaison, 605 km special = 749 (Longest timed special)
Stage 12: El Salvador to La Serena 349 km liaison, 350 km special = 699 km
Stage 13: La Serena to Valparaiso 378 km liaison, 157 km special = 535 km

Total Liaison: 3506 km
Total Timed Special: 5228 km
Total Distance: 8734 km

Marc Coma
Marc Coma
Jordi Villadoms
Jordi Villadoms
Ruben Faria
Ruben Faria