MX Nationals 2015 season opener at Horsham soured by critical incident

MX1 – KTM’s Kirk Gibbs takes the honours at 2015 MX Nationals Horsham season opener

With a point to prove, KTM’s Kirk Gibbs arrived at Horsham determined to take race wins.

After recording the second fastest lap time in GoPro SuperPole, a win in moto one ahead of teammate Luke Styke, and another win in moto two, Gibbs was a certainty for the MX1 overall ahead of CDR Yamaha’s Kade Mosig and KTM’s Luke Styke this afternoon.

While Gibbs celebrated, MX1 defending champion Matt Moss, was a notable absentee from the front of the pack, finishing 14th in both moto one and two, handing him 13th overall for the day in a shocking upset for Team Factory Suzuki.

Kirk Gibbs– KTM Motocross Racing – “My preparation this year has been awesome, we all went over to race in New Zealand for the pre-season and it’s really paid off –  I really owe it all to KTM,” he said.

I had a lot of confidence coming into this round so I’m really happy to take the win.

A few years ago I didn’t really know where I was going with my career and Rob Twyerould took me on – I can’t thank him enough for that.

My pa passed away a couple of weeks ago and I know he told my dad that he wanted me to win so this win today is for him.”

Monster MX1 Round overall and Championship points

1) Kirk Gibbs – 74 points

2) Kade Mosig – 64 points

3) Luke Styke – 58 points

4) Lawson Bopping – 59 points

5) Cody Cooper – 55 points

6) Ford Dale – 50 points

7) Adam Monea – 49 points

8) Dylan Long – 47 points

9) Cheyne Boyd – 40 points

10) Jesse Dobson – 40 points

KTM’s Kirk Gibbs takes the honours at 2015 MX Nationals Horsham season opener
KTM’s Kirk Gibbs takes the honours at 2015 MX Nationals Horsham season opener
MX2 – Jed Beaton takes round overall in debut MX2 appearance

As the sun shone down on the Horsham circuit, so did the number twelve Serco Yamaha machine of Jed Beaton, as he crossed the line for his first overall win, in the MX2 Class for 2015 this afternoon.

After an impressive third place in moto one, and a race win in moto two, it was no surprise to see Serco Yamaha’s Jed Beaton on the top of the podium in his debut MX2 outing.

Despite Beaton’s glory, a ten second penalty in moto two saw teammate Luke Clout forced to settle for second overall, while Kawasaki mounted Takeshi Katsuya finished the day in third place.

Beaton was over the moon with his first win for 2015, dedicating his ride to injured brother Ross Beaton and his brand new Serco Yamaha Team.

Jed Beaton – Serco Yamaha (3-1 =  65 points) – “Today was a good day. I had a bad start in that first one and made a couple of mistakes, but I managed to sort myself out and I’m over the moon to be on the podium,” he said.

I have been working really hard so I’m not completely shocked by my result, but it’s definitely nice to get this one for the team at round one.

I can’t thank my team and also my brother Ross enough. Ross is always out on the pit board and pushing me with my riding so I did this for him today.”

Motul MX2 round overall and Championship points

1) Jed Beaton – 65 points

2) Luke Clout – 63 points

3) Takeshi Katsuya – 62 points

4) Jay Wilson – 60 points

5) Nathan Crawford – 51 points

6) Wade Hunter – 46 points

7) Dylan Wills – 46 points

8) Caleb Ward – 45 points

9) Luke Arbon – 44 points

10) Riley Graham – 44 point

MX Nationals 2015 - Jed Beaton takes round overall in debut MX2 appearance
MX Nationals 2015 – Jed Beaton takes round overall in debut MX2 appearance
Jordan Hill takes round one victory in Pirelli MXD

The Pirelli MXD Class had their first outing for the year at a perfectly prepared Horsham track today, and despite only recording one official race, showed MX Nationals fans what the future of motocross looks like.

Being the third class out on an already rough a rutty circuit, the MXD class had their work cut out for them when they hit the track for their first moto of the day.

After claiming top qualifying position, the first MXD holeshot for 2015 also went to young gun Mitchell Evans – however his glory was short lived. After only one lap, Evans was forced to exit the race, pulling into the pits nursing his wrist and recording a DNF.

With Evans forced out of moto one, the opportunity for a new race leader was handed to Jordan Hill, Dylan Wilson, Jayden Rykers and Wilson Todd.

Todd made the most of Evans’ misfortune moving quickly into the lead ahead of surprise second place holder, Yamaha mounted Jordan Hill.

However Todd was also unable to make the lead stick for more than five minutes, making a mistake that saw him drop back to fourth place handing Hill a comfortable lead.

With Hill now in full control of the first MXD moto for 2015, second place was taken on by fellow Yamaha rider Dylan Wilson, ahead of KTM’s Jayden Rykers in third.

Hill celebrated as he crossed the line when the chequered flag flew, taking not only his first race win for 2015, but his very first senior racing victory. Wilson claimed second place deservedly ahead of Rykers who took out third position.

Race two for the MXD class got underway, however a critical incident saw the second moto red flagged, and the class did not return to the track for any further racing.

With the MXD class unable to complete moto two, round results have now been calculated based on moto one results only.

Williams Event Management will look to add an additional race to the MX Nationals program at one of the remaining nine rounds of the series, to ensure the MXD Championship is calculated correctly.

Pirelli MXD round overall and Championship points

1) Jordan Hill – 35 points

2) Dylan Wilson – 32 points

3) Jayden Rykers – 30 points

4) Wilson Todd – 28 points

5) Wayde Carter – 26 points

6) Trent Wheatley – 25 points

7) Toby Stevens – 24 points

8) Jonte Reynders – 23 points

9) Bailey Coxon – 22 points

10) Connor Tierney – 21 points

MX Nationals 2015 - Jordan Hill takes round one victory in Pirelli MXD
MX Nationals 2015 – Jordan Hill takes round one victory in Pirelli MXD
Dylan Wilson taken to hospital in critical conditon after crash at MX Nationals season opener at Horsham

Williams Event Management (WEM) and Motorcycling Australia (MA) has confirmed that rider Dylan Wilson was involved in a critical on-track incident during round one of the 2015 MX Nationals Championship, at Horsham on Sunday 29 March 2015.

Dylan Wilson received immediate treatment from the Racesafe medical team at the track, and is being transported to Melbourne for further treatment and remains in a critical condition.