2019 Yamaha AORC

Rounds 8 & 9 – Coonalpyn

Words and Pics by John Pearson Media

After the recent bout of rough weather events and dusty venues one could not be well enough prepared for the sublime surface that presented itself on arrival at the Coonalpyn track in South Australia over the weekend.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Saturday crowd
Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 Australian Off-Road Championships

An abundance of pearlescent white beach sand mixed in with canola crops and some tight mallee scrub made for an amazing location that was universally enjoyed.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Josh Brierley
Josh Brierley – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

The Gawler Motorcycle Club had obviously put a lot of time and effort into this event and it was evident from the moment you drove onto the property. As far as racing spectacles were to go, there was only one real point of contention with the E1 class having the most potential for upset winners.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Nathan Trigg
Nathan Trigg – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Both E2 and E3 were expected to run according to script as they had done all year. With the track marked out and riders primed for what was to be some epic riding the only thing holding everybody back was the starter’s gun.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Josh Green
Josh Green – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Saturday quickly evolved into a game of who could bury their bike the deepest in successive corners. The sand was fluffy and deep. It was reminiscent of a day at the Stockton Beach dunes. Don’t get me wrong, there was a little bit of rock and mallee scrub thrown in for good measure out the back but none of the spectators could see this so it didn’t matter.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Jesse Lawton
Jesse Lawton – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

In what was some of the most spectacular racing we’ve seen all year, there was sand being thrown far and wide, left and right. At the end of Round 8 the usual suspects had forged their way to the front in clinical displays of riding deep sand.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Daniel Milner
Daniel Milner – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Husqvarna Offroad rider Daniel “Chucky” Sanders had walked away with the E3 points while KTM Offroad order Daniel Milner showed why he’s the man to beat in E2.

Threesix Motorsports Yamaha rider Luke Styke edged out KTM Offroad’s Lyndon Snodgrass for the E1 prize. In the women, Jess Gardiner pushed her way to the front beating Emma Milesevic and Yamaha compatriot Emelie Karlsson.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Lyndon Snodgrass
Lyndon Snodgrass – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Sunday saw the tracks rotated giving the Vets, Masters, Womens and Clubman classes a look at the thoroughly flogged track ridden on Saturday by the pro classes. To say the whoops were large was a monumental understatement.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Alexander Rudloff
Alexander Rudloff – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

In scenes reminiscent of past Hattah Desert races there were whoops out there large enough to swallow bike and rider. The pros shifted to what was previously the Junior track that in one place contained a section of primo sand motocross track. This drew the crowd.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Nathan Dalbosco
Nathan Dalbosco – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

With the tops of the dunes overlooking the marvel of modern earthworks covered in spectators, the pro classes went to war once again.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Matt Phillips
Matt Phillips – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

It soon became obvious that you could put your house on who was going to take out E3 and with the absence of Husqvarna mounted Beau Ralston – who had been sidelined late in the week after a training injury, Daniel Sanders had a real chance to wrap up the E3 championship at the end of the day.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Daniel Sanders
Daniel Sanders – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

He just needed to finish safely and glory would be his. As the Husqvarna crew held their breath in the pits, Sanders beat the Coonalpyn track into submission to claim the Round 9 and 2019 E3 championship honours in destructive fashion some six minutes clear of his nearest rival.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Daniel Sanders winner
Daniel Sanders – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Daniel Milner was again victorious in E2 leading home Yamaha’s Josh Green by around 3 minutes. He will still need to fight to the end if he is to claim the E2 crown.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Daniel Milner
Daniel Milner – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

As far as E1 goes the final decision will be less clear with a number of different class winners throughout the season however Threesix Yamaha’s Luke Styke looks a strong contender if KTM’s Lyndon Snodgrass or Husqvarna’s Fraser Higlett can’t keep him honest in the final rounds.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Fraser Higlett
Fraser Higlett – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

Rounds 10 and 11 will take place on 14-15th September at Hedley in Victoria. The deep black dust and sand that makes up the majority of this track is always a good test of man and machine and at this time of year the weather can be capable of just about anything.

AORC Rnd Coonalpyn Emelie Karlsson
Emelie Karlsson – Coonalpyn Rounds 8 & 9 – 2019 AORC

2019 AORC Rounds 8 & 9 Results

#RiderTime – Total
1Daniel SANDERS58:40.514
2Daniel MILNER59:30.788
3Joshua GREEN1:00:50.038
4Luke STYKE1:00:52.231
5Lyndon SNODGRASS1:01:00.940
6Michael DRISCOLL1:02:17.640
7Riley GRAHAM1:02:33.987
8Fraser HIGLETT1:02:55.789
9Andrew WILKSCH1:02:56.028
10Jeremy CARPENTIER1:03:40.107
11Matthew PHILLIPS1:03:57.726
12Stefan GRANQUIST1:04:19.384
13Joshua BRIERLEY1:04:55.166
14Jesse LAWTON1:05:12.894
15Korey MCMAHON1:05:18.693
16Alexander BOLTON1:05:33.162
17Kyron BACON1:05:45.100
18Cooper SHEIDOW1:05:50.856
19Nathan TRIGG1:06:21.501
20William PRICE1:07:14.236
#RiderTime – Total
1Daniel SANDERS1:09:31.089
2Daniel MILNER1:10:59.206
3Luke STYKE1:12:31.488
4Lyndon SNODGRASS1:12:56.788
5Joshua GREEN1:13:21.455
6Fraser HIGLETT1:13:44.746
7Jeremy CARPENTIER1:14:50.294
8Matthew PHILLIPS1:14:51.763
9Michael DRISCOLL1:15:14.966
10Andrew WILKSCH1:15:33.329
11Kyron BACON1:15:49.689
12Korey MCMAHON1:16:20.456
13Alexander BOLTON1:16:50.317
14Joshua BRIERLEY1:16:53.314
15Riley GRAHAM1:17:17.166
16Stefan GRANQUIST1:17:44.224
17Cooper SHEIDOW1:18:39.727
18William PRICE1:18:44.054
19Jesse LAWTON1:18:58.170
20Brad HARDAKER1:19:09.284

2019 AORC Rounds 9 Standings

E3 Standings – Top 10

1Daniel SANDERS225
2Andrew WILKSCH168
3Jesse LAWTON162
4Beau RALSTON148
5Matt MURRY145
6Daniel WELSH84
7Luke BUNNIK74
8Nathan DELAWARE62
9Alexander BOLTON58

E2 Standings – Top 10

1Daniel MILNER225
2Joshua GREEN198
5Harrison TEED91
6William PRICE90
8Hayden KEELEY65
10Brent DEAN64

E1 Standings – Top 10

 #Rider Points 
1Luke STYKE212
2Lyndon SNODGRASS196
3Fraser HIGLETT181
4Michael DRISCOLL176
5Lachlan ALLAN137
6Alexander RUDLOFF117
8Joseph COLE51
10Jeremy FRANKLIN46

EJ Standings – Top 10

 #Rider Points 
1Kyron BACON215
2Joshua BRIERLEY198
3Korey MCMAHON181
4Cooper SHEIDOW158
5Nathan HOWE147
7Jayden RUDD98
8Mathew PYE91
9Thomas TEED69
10Benjamin TEED64

J4 Standings – Top 10

1Mackenzie JOHNSON186
2Blake HOLLIS175
3Oscar COLLINS149
4Charlie MILTON144
5Kobe CONLEY130
6Zac PERRY107

J3 Standings – Top 10

3William DENNETT178
6Thomas FOSTER82
7Jethro CARRIAGE76
8Jake HAYES69
9Ariana COLLINS68
10Kelly WOOLSTON63

J2 Standings – Top 10

1Billy HARGY195
3Campbell HALL184
4Luke CHELLAS146
5Thomas VANCE116
6William VELLA112
7Jett YARNOLD109
8Jet BRIEN69

Veterans Standings – Top 10

2Christopher THOMAS172
3Jason PEARCE148
4Luke ABLITT127
6Daniel SAWTELL61
7Damian SMITH47
8Dan RALPH47
9Phil NEWMAN47
10Rowan PUMPA44

Masters Standings – Top 10

1Kirk HUTTON222
2Peter RUDD164
3Craig TREASURE144
4Timothy MARTIN128
6Stephen MATHESON82
7Michael WIDDISON68
9John BAKER55

Womens Standings – Top 10

1Jessica GARDINER217
3Emelie KARLSSON186
4Danielle FOOT154
5Ebony NIELSEN112
6Charlotte GAMBLE69
9Julie DENYER40
10Chloe BARTON31