Superprestigio winner Brad Baker in for 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic

Eight of the world’s best flat-track racers have been confirmed to contest the 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic presented by Garden Master, Insure My Ride and Shark Helmets at Taree Motorcycle Club on Saturday January 16.

AMA Pro Flat Track Expert Grand National Champion Brad Baker, who won yesterday’s Superprestigio ahead of MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez and defending AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Champion Jared Mees, will make his first visit to Australia for the 2016 event.

Brad Baker wins Superprestigio 2015
Brad Baker wins Superprestigio 2015

The American was scheduled to race the 2015 Troy Bayliss Classic, but was ruled out after injuring his shoulder during practice at the 2014 Superprestigio.

Event Organiser and winner of the 2014 event, Troy Bayliss said he was looking forward to racing Baker on the iconic Taree track.

“I am really looking forward to going head-to-head with Brad in January,” Bayliss said. “He was going to compete at this year’s Troy Bayliss Classic but was unfortunately forced out due to an injury, so it will be great to finally get him here.

“The calibre of riders we have confirmed for the 2016 event is incredible and to have these eight internationals as part of the rider line-up is a massive achievement”

Jared Mees earns third Harley-Davidson GNC1 presented by Vance & Hines championship in four years
Jared Mees earned his third Harley-Davidson GNC1 presented by Vance & Hines championship in four years last month

2015 Troy Bayliss Classic winner Jared Mees (USA) returns in 2016 to defend his crown along with compatriots,  runner-up and two-time AMA Pro Grand National Singles Champion Henry Wiles and 2014 Troy Bayliss Classic Americana winner Sammy Halbert.

Japanese flat-track sensation Masotoshi Ohmori will also return in 2016, marking his third appearance at the popular event.

Masatoshi Ohmori - Image by Trevor Hedge
Masatoshi Ohmori – Image by Trevor Hedge

The 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic will see three of the eight international racers make their Australian debut including four-time Long Track World Champion Joonas Kylmakorpi, two-time AMA Grand National Champion Jake Johnson and dual British Supermoto Champion Chris Hodgson.

Kylmakorpi, who is one of the world’s most successful long track racers, also boasts an illustrious international speedway career. The 35 year old, led the Finnish national team in the 2007 Speedway World Cup and is a multiple medallist of Team Championships in Sweden, Great Britain, Poland and Denmark.

Now in its fourth year, the Troy Bayliss Classic is one of Australia’s marquee motorcycle racing events.

“I love bringing the best riders from different disciplines together to create an incredible event not only for Taree and the Taree Motorcycle Club, but also for motorcycle racing in Australia,” Bayliss continued.

“Taree Motorcycle Club has undergone some major upgrades including resurfacing the track for this year’s event and some additional improvements to spectator facilities.

“2016 promises to be even bigger than this year and the level of competition on January 16 will be even tougher than previous years,” Bayliss added.

Troy and Oli Bayliss
Troy and Oli Bayliss

Tickets to the 2016 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic presented by Insure My Ride, Garden Master and Shark Helmets are on sale now via

The event, which will be held at Taree Motorcycle Club on Saturday 16 January is also supported by Coates Hire and Ixon.