Watch Billy Van Eerde take Asia Talent Cup victory

Billy Van Eerde wins Asia Talent Cup race at Losail

Billy Van Eerde wins Asia Talent Cup race at Losail

Young Queenslander Billy Van Eerde was triumphant today at Losail in the second race of the opening round of the 2018 Asia Talent Cup.

Bill Van Eerde in the lead
Bill Van Eerde in the lead

Van Eerde recovered from a major crash on Friday to qualify on the second row and finish seventh in the opening bout but came out all guns firing today to take victory!

The result leaves Billy Van Eerde second to Race 1 winner Haruki Noguchi, who was second in Race 2, in the overall standings.

Race 2

The Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup has its first ever Australian winner after Race 2 in Qatar, with Bilyl van Eerde coming back from a big crash on Friday to duel it out against title favourite Haruki Noguchi on Sunday. Another incredible photo finish – with the riders not even sure who had taken the win – made for a stunning second contest of the weekend. Toshiki Senda of Japan completed the podium, going one better than his Saturday P4.

A tight finish saw Billy Van Eerde take the win
A tight finish saw Billy Van Eerde take the win

After the desert duel on Saturday, Sunday was more a group war for glory at the front, although Noguchi and Saturday podium finisher Mario Aji again initially took off at the front. But enter Bill van Eerde, as the Australian got into the fight and wouldn’t allow a breakaway.

Race 2 was classic Asia Talent Cup racing with riders dicing and attacking, and everything going down to the wire – with the last lap seeing van Eerde and Noguchi able to make a small gap and convert it into a duel. Into the final corner, the Australian was ahead – but Noguchi got alongside on the home straight before the number 19 just nudged back ahead before the line.

Toshiki Senda
Toshiki Senda

Senda completed the podium, ahead of another top finish for Race 1 second place finisher Mario Aji of Indonesia. Afridza Munandar took P5, with Senna Agius of Australia putting in an impressive second contest of the weekend as he managed to fight off Race 1 rostrum finisher Sho Nishimura. Polesitter Agung Fachrul had a less dramatic start to proceedings on Sunday and got away from the pole position he earned in qualifying to take P8, with Thai rider Tachakorn Buarsi and Malaysian Danial Sharil completing the top ten.

Van Eerde’s fellow Australians Senna Agius also took a strong result, improving on his 13th position in Race 1, to take sixth in Race 2. While Ben Baker was 11th in qualifying, but a NC in Race 2.

Senna Agius now sits ninth in the standings with 13 championship points.

ATC Round 1 saw close competition
ATC Round 1 in Qatar saw close competition

Alberto Puig – Cup Director

“The race was very interesting, I think a little more interesting than yesterday because there were more riders in the top group. It was nice to see an Australian winning an Asia Talent Cup race for first time race. I think it was a nice race. Noguchi is probably the most experienced rider but I’m happy because from yesterday to today they improved the laptimes and there were more guys in the top group. We are pleased, and now we move to Thailand for the next race at Buriram.”

It’s not long until the next race now, with Buriram playing host as the second round of the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup rides alongside WorldSBK in Thailand next weekend. As always all of the action can be followed YouTube.


Asia Talent Cup Race 2 Podium -
Asia Talent Cup Race 2 Podium – 1. Billy Van Eerde, 2. Haruki Noguchi, 3. Toshiki Senda

Asia Talent Cup – Race 2 – Losail

  1. Bill Van Eerde 19 31’28.461 25
  2. Haruki Noguchi 9 +0.013 20
  3. Toshiki Senda 10 +1.282 16
  4. Mario Aji 7 +1.579 13
  5. Afridza Munandar 4 +1.774 11
  6. Senna Agius 12 +4.234 10
  7. Sho Nishimura 3 +4.766 9
  8. Agung Fachrul 22 +5.187 8
  9. Tatchakorn Buarsi 5 +11.797 7
  10. Danial Sharil 21 +12.121 6
  11. Kopchai Sae-liw 23 +22.054 5
  12. Adenanta Putra 16 +22.101 4
  13. Ibrahim Pawi 20 +22.177 3
  14. Shota Kiuchi 2 +22.216 2
  15. Nitipong Saengsawang 17 +24.189 1
    …NC Lucky Hendriansya 13 0
    …NC Benjamin Baker 15 0

2018 Asia Talent CupRider Standings following Race 2 – Top 10

  1. Haruki Noguchi 45
  2. Billy Van Eerde 34
  3. Mario Aji 33
  4. Toshiki Senda 29
  5. Sho Nishimura 25
  6. Afridza Munandar 21
  7. Agung Fachrul 16
  8. Adenanta Putra 15
  9. Senna Agius 13
  10. Tachakorn Busarsi 13

Race 1

The first win of the year did go to an expected title contender, but it was far from easy going for victor Haruki Noguchi. The battle went down to the wire after a race-long duel against Mario Aji of Indonesia, and it was just 0.034 deciding the winner by the flag.

Haruki Noguchi
Haruki Noguchi

There was drama from the off as polesitter Agung Fachrul was forced to start from the back after failing to get away on the Warm Up lap, leaving Aji and Noguchi on the front row. And Aji took the lead from the middle, with Noguchi tagging onto his tail and the two then beginning to pull away.

The race then looked like it would be set as a duel and that it was, but a it was a spectacular battle between the two and behind. By mid-distance however, Sho Nishimura had made his mark and broken away – looking on for a podium unless any drama unfurled ahead.

Sho Nishimura
Sho Nishimura

After swapping positions and almost some paint, Noguchi was ahead out of the final corner – and Aji pulled alongside as the two kept it pinned towards the line. So close it was almost impossible to call, it was Noguchi who just took it – therefore also taking an early lead in the Championship.

Behind the front two and Nishimura, who completed the podium, it was Toshiki Senda of Japan who emerged from the brawl to take fourth, ahead of Indonesian duo of Adenanta Putra and Afridza Munandar.

Australian rookie Bill van Eerde came back from a big crash on Friday to qualify on the second row and take a solid finish in P7, ahead of Fachul’s amazing fight back. Fellow Australian Senna Agius was 13th and took three championship points.

Asia Talent Cup – Race 1 – Losail

  1. Haruki NOGUCHI JPN 31’32.416
  2. Mario AJI INA +0.034
  3. Sho NISHIMURA JPN +5.218
  4. Toshiki SENDA JPN +7.334
  5. Adenanta PUTRA INA +7.377
  6. Afridza MUNANDAR INA +7.427
  7. Bill VAN EERDE AUS +7.456
  8. Agung FACHRUL INA +7.600
  9. Danial SHARIL MAL +21.200
  10. Tachakorn BUARSI THA +22.282
  11. Kopchai SAE-LIW THA +24.525
  12. Ibrahim PAWI MAL +24.562
    …13 Senna AGIUS AUS +26.370