WA SBK Round One
— By John Innes

Round One of the Weld West State Road Racing Championships was run last weekend, and with the forecast rain not eventuating, the day was perfect for racing.

The Swift Windscreens ‘B’ Grade race got the season underway and it was a three way battle between Shane Martin (Albany Kawasaki ZX-10), Glenn Lowe (VRT Yamaha R1) and Colin Cameron (Causeway Kawasaki ZX-10) at the front for the entire five lap journey. Martin showed the rest of the field a clean pair of heels as he stormed to a 3second victory over Lowe with Cameron a further 9seconds back. Steve Chittendon (Rockingham Power Sports Honda 1000) was fourth with Craig Gallop (Far West Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000) fifth.

The Weld West Superbikes Championship Cameron Stronach (357 Racing BMW S1000RR) rode the perfect race to win the opening race of the season. Initially he was challenged by Adam Senior (Silkolene Honda 1000) until he ran wide going into the Basin surrendering second place to Lubomir Safranek (JB Performance BMW S1000RR) third was Anthony McFadden (Boreclean BMW S1000RCBR 600) third. In the second race it was Stronach again who took the win with Senior recording his first finish of the year in second place with Mark Schnierer (Gibbs Insurance Brokers Kawasaki ZX-10) taking third spot. Senior was not going to be denied his moment of glory and he was never headed in the final race and try as he may Stronach was unable to make any impression on him with Schnierer rounding out the top three. This will be an interesting championship with so many riders capable of winning.

In the Northside Flooring Supersport Champions three riders dominated at the front of the field Nigel Lloyd (JB Racing Kawasaki ZX6), Leigh Boujos (SIKA Yamaha R6) and Aaiden Coote (SP Racing Honda CBR 600), with Lloyd winning by the narrowest of margins, with Boujos second and Coote third. Tim Boujos (JB Racing Yamaha R6) took the win in the Superstock division from Graeme Romano (Action Asbestos Yamaha R6). Race two and Coote took the win by 7seconds over Leigh Boujos with Lloyd third, he was never troubled and built a comfortable lead early. Tim Boujos again took the win in the Superstock division from Romano. The third and final race was again Coote’s with the entire action taking place for second and third, in the end Lloyd beat Leigh Boujos for second spot, whilst Tim Boujos made it a clean sweep in the Superstock with Matt Steele second in the division. The top three riders in the Supersport class will be swapping paint all season long and it remains to be seen who will be the strongest over the five rounds.

The Armadale Rental Cars Sidecar Championship race 1 was a runaway win for the Walker brothers Neal and Darryn, in the first race from Phil Brown/Michelle Clarke with Jero Joyce/Corey Blackman were third. With several riders not starting the Walker bros were untroubled in taking two more wins to make it three from three. Joyce/Blackman took second in both the races and Michael Robbins/Karen Dore to a pair of thirds on their F2 machine.

The Radmix 125/250GP Championships saw Brad Gross take the win in the 250GP class from Adam Senior with Dillan McDermott third. Whilst in the 125GP Tom Hatton took the win from Anthony Robson with Robert Clarke third. Sam Clarke failed to finish suffering machine problems. In race two Gross again took the win from Senior with Troy Johnson taking third spot, in the 125GP Hatton, Rob Peters and Sam Clarke took the top three places, all three were riding RS Honda 125’s. The final race again saw Gross take a comfortable win with McDermott holding onto second place from a fast finishing Senior in third place. In the 125GP Sam Clarke took the win from Hatton with Scott Pettit third.

The Chain Reaction Clubman 600 series Andrew Read took the win in race 1. Read repeated the win in the second race with Tony Keogh second. In the final race the pair swapped positions with Keogh recording a great win over Read
The Motorcycle Movers Clubman 1000 series the win in race 1went to Kurt Macomber. Race two and Chris Brown came out on top with Macomber second. The final race saw Brown take his second win of the round from Macomber with Ian Cole taking the minor podium place.

Round Two of the championships will take place on the 30th June 2013, for further information contact the MCRCWA during office hours on 9409 1002.

You may also like

No Comment

You can post first response comment.