2019 Isle of Man TT

Monster Energy Supersport Race

Conor Cummins was the first off the line at 1830 on Monday night in the opening Supersport race of TT 2019 ahead of Dean Harrison and John McGuinness.  The time delay between each rider ten-seconds and the race distance four laps of the 37.73 mile mountain course, thus 243 kilometres all up for the 50+ race starters.

IOMTT Supersport R Conor Cummins
Conor Cummins

James Hillier was the fastest man out of the blocks to take the early race lead ahead of Gary Johnson and Dean Harrison. Lee Johnston though then promoted himself up to second place through the split at Ballaugh Bridge.

IOMTT Supersport R James Hillier
James Hillier

Lee Johnston then took the lead late on the opening lap at Bungalow to demote Hillier to second place. Peter Hickman was the man on a charge though and was up to third place by Bungalow.

IOMTT Supersport R Peter Hickman
Peter Hickman

The first time past the start-finish line it was Johnston in the lead by two-seconds over Hillier with Hickman a further two-seconds back in third place.

IOMTT Supersport R Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop

Gary Johnson was in fourth ahead of Dean Harrison and Michael Dunlop. Conor Cummins seventh ahead of Jamie Coward and Davey Todd while Ian Hutchinson rounded out the top ten.

IOMTT Supersport R Dean Harrison
Dean Harrison

On lap two Lee Johnston continued to pull away from Hillier as Hickman started to close in on the second place man, the gap down to half-a-second by Ballaugh Bridge.

IOMTT Supersport R Lee Johnston Action
Lee Johnston

Late on the second lap though Johnston’s lead had been whittled down from four-seconds down to almost nothing by Ramsey. Presumably some sort of problem onboard the Ashcourt Group sponsored YZF-R6 or a mistake by Johnston allowing Hillier to get back in the race for the lead.

IOMTT Supersport R Lee Johnston
Lee Johnston

The other possibility was that there were a few drops of light rain at one part of the circuit that had seen Johnston button it off a little more than Hillier. That hypothesis was confirmed at the end of lap two when officials put out the chequered flag due to worsening conditions on the mountain. The race declared after two laps and Lee Johnston declared the winner ahead of James Hillier and Peter Hickman.

IOMTT Supersport R Lee Johnston ParcFerme
Lee Johnston – TT 2019 – SS Race One

Despite the early culmination of that race Lee Johnston is still a very deserved race winner. He dominated that race from the get-go and the 30-year-old Northern Irishman was an emotional victor.

Monster Energy Supersport Race Results

  1. Lee Johnston
  2. James Hillier +3.641
  3. Peter Hickman +4.967
  4. Dean Harrison +17.971
  5. Michael Dunlop +21.125
  6. Conor Cummins +27.585
  7. Gary Johnson +29.088
  8. Jamie Coward +36.918
  9. Davey Todd +58.691
  10. Ian Hutchinson +66.796
IOMTT Supersport R Podium Johnston Hickman Hillier
Monster Energy Supersport Race Results
Lee Johnston
James Hillier +3.641
Peter Hickman +4.967
Classic TT Qualifying Bruce Anstey

Anstey celebrates return by topping qualifying at Classic TT

2019 Classic TT Qualifying Classic Superbike - Lightweight Classic The 2019 Classic TT finally kicked off...
Classic TT Superbike Paul Jordan Michael Rutter Practice

RST Superbike Classic TT Form Guide

RST Superbike Classic TT Horst Saiger will lead the RST Superbike Classic TT Race away...
Ulster GP Sat First Supersport Race

Peter Hickman peerless at 2019 Ulster Grand Prix

2019 Ulster GP Saturday Race Reports Superstock Race Peter Hickman romped to his third victory at the...
Ulster GP SBK Peter Hickman

Peter Hickman breaks lap record on way to Ulster GP SBK win

  2019 Ulster Grand Prix Thursday Race Reports Thursday afternoon saw the start of race action at...
Ulster GP QP Hickman

Peter Hickman dominates opening qualifying for Ulster GP

2019 Ulster GP Qualifying Times / Report Smith's BMW Peter Hickman continues to show peerless form...