2009 AMA Motocross Championship – Round Three – Freestone

—  Download Full Results (PDF – 1114Kb)

— Rockstar Suzuki Report

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Alessi Wins Freestone MX & Reed Completes the Podium

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Mike Alessi won his second-consecutive AMA Motocross race at Freestone County Raceway in Wortham, Texas, on Saturday afternoon.

Formerly a runner-up at the Texas track, Alessi won both 30-minute motos to take the overall win and to pick up his second AMA Motocross victory of the season.

This win allows Alessi to extend his lead in the overall championship points standings.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed joined Alessi on the podium. The two-time AMA Supercross Champion had fifth- and second-place moto finishes for an overall third-place result.

Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne continues to improve post-surgery: the Australian brought home a seventh-place overall finish, his best result of the season so far.

In the 250 class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey captured another overall victory, thanks to second- and first-place moto finishes, Dungey rode two impressive motos and continues to lead the overall championship points standings. This win is Dungey’s second victory of the 2009 season.

Mike Alessi:
“This was a good weekend. I’m just taking it race by race. We’re all competitors and we’re out there to race and do the best we can. The first moto was tough, and I didn’t get the best of starts but I charged right up through there on my Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and passed those guys. Then I just tried to run a smooth, good pace. The second moto was great – I got the holeshot and pulled away and just kind of rode my own race and had a great time. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki team is doing a great job, the RM-Z450 is awesome and it’s good to get a number-one trophy at Freestone.”

Chad Reed:
“Freestone was good. I qualified fastest on my Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 event though it was my first time there. I enjoyed the track, but unfortunately I’m just not 100 percent right now and I can’t put my best foot forward in the races. That’s been disappointing and a little hard to swallow, but I’ve been working night and day on it and it’s slow progress but I feel like I’m getting there. When I’m 100 percent, I feel like I’ll be able to win races – motos and overalls – and chase down Mike and make this a race for the championship.”

Michael Byrne:
“The race at Freestone went really good. I got two good starts on my Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and was able to do much better than I have so far this year. I think it’s really helped me to be training at home and back in my regular routine. I was able to spend some time by myself and work on the things that I needed to and that would help build strength in my shoulder. Now I just want to keep building on this and hopefully, the results will improve.”

Ryan Dungey:
“It’s for weekend’s like this that we train our butts off during the week, so we can go all-out for two 30-minute motos. The humidity has made the racing tough here, but the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team made the RM-Z250 work great out there. I definitely had my work cut out for me in the first moto, coming from about 10th to second place. Then, in the second moto, the competition was deep so I’m glad I was feeling sharp and feeling good… I’m just super-pumped on the racing this year and I’ve got to give it up for Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki. It’s a fun journey.”

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at High Point Raceway in Mount Morris

AMA Motocross 450 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers
1. Mike Alessi, Suzuki
2. Andrew Short, Honda
3. Chad Reed, Suzuki
4. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
5. Ricky Dietrich, Kawasaki
6. Daniel Reardon, Honda
7. Michael Byrne, Suzuki
8. Cody Cooper, Yamaha
9. Weston Peick, Honda
10. Justin Brayton, KTM

AMA Motocross 250 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers:
1. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
3. Trey Canard, Honda
4. Blake Wharton, Honda
5. Brett Metcalfe, Honda
6. Tommy Searle, KTM
7. Tyla, Rattray, Kawasaki
8. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
9. Darryn Durham, Yamaha
10. Kyle Cunningham, Kawasaki