2019 Endurance World Championship

8 Hours of Oschersleben

Josh Hook, Freddy Foray and Mike Di Meglio have claimed the 8 Hours of Oschersleben win in the Endurance World Championship for F.C.C. TSR Honda France, from Team SRC Kawasaki France (who now lead the FIM Endurance World Championship) and VRD Igol Pierret Expériences. With a 4th-place finish, Moto Ain claimed both the Superstock win and the FIM Endurance World Cup.

H Oschersleben Podium
F.C.C. TSR Honda France topped the podium – 8 Hours of Oschersleben

The podium was starting to look like a done deal, with four of the favourites battling it out in the lead from the race start, when big drama shook things up an hour and a half before the finish at Oschersleben. YART Yamaha’s engine failure while they were locked in battle with F.C.C. TSR Honda France for the win caused Honda Endurance Racing, then in 4th place, to crash, throwing the end of the race wide open.

Broc Parkes – YART

“The Oschersleben 8 Hour ended for us about 1.5hrs from the end, Marvin was on the bike when it caught fire on track and they had to bring it back on the trailer. We were leading the race and had a good chance of the win. There’s nothing else we could have done today, we all rode great, no mistakes and consistent pace so its a shame it had to end early.”

F.C.C. TSR Honda France, the 2018 race winner, triumphed ahead of Team SRC Kawasaki France. The Kawasaki riders Jérémy Guarnoni, David Checa and Erwan Nigon made it to the second step of the podium. Most importantly, they lifted the factory Kawasaki to the top of the provisional standings in the run-up to the grand finale at Suzuka.

H Oschersleben FCC TSR Honda France
F.C.C. TSR Honda France – 8 Hours of Oschersleben

For VRD Igol Pierret Expériences (Florian Alt, Florian Marino and Xavier Siméon), their third-place podium finish was as good as a win. The Yamaha-supported team secured their first podium in their first Formula EWC season.

Fourth-place finishers Moto Ain also savoured victory. Roberto Rolfo, Robin Mulhauser and Stefan Hill led the Superstock class for 204 of the total 303 laps run. They secured the Superstock win at Oschersleben ahead of Wójcik Racing Team 2 and BMRT 3D Maccio Racing. Above all, they won Moto Ain’s first-ever FIM Endurance World Cup.

H Oschersleben Suzuki Endurance Racing Team vincent philippeq
Suzuki Endurance Racing Team – 8 Hours of Oschersleben- Image by David Reygondeau

Their battle with GERT56 by GS Yuasa for the Cup was closely fought. The BMW-mounted German team, who were leading the world standings before Oschersleben, finished the race in 13th place after running out of fuel and experiencing electrical issues.

H Oschersleben FCC TSR Honda France
F.C.C. TSR Honda France – 8 Hours of Oschersleben

The Superstock teams were particularly competitive in Germany. Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers ran a solid race in 9th place to win the Anthony Delhalle EWC Spirit Trophy singling out the fighting spirit of an entire team. No Limits Motor Team and Team 33 Coyote Louit Moto, 11th and 12th at the finish, also delivered a noteworthy performance. Junior Team LMS Suzuki were a contender for the FIM World Cup early on in the race, but a crash relegated them to 17th at the finish line.

The Suzuki Endurance Racing Team kept a 16th series effort alive after fighting back from two crashes on Sunday. The 15-times EWC winners, with SERT riders Vincent Philippe, Etienne Masson and Gregg Black in the saddle of the GSX-R1000, clawed back to 10th at the flag during a tough race, and now head to the Suzuka 8-Hours finale in Japan next month just five points off the lead.The standings leader before the race in Germany, Suzuki Endurance Racing Team will get to Suzuka with a five-point lag behind Team SRC Kawasaki France.

H Oschersleben Suzuki Endurance Racing Team etienne masson
Suzuki Endurance Racing Team – 8 Hours of Oschersleben – Image by David Reygondeau

Another of the favourites who got unlucky were ERC-BMW Motorrad Endurance. They got off to a good start, but finished 19th after colliding with another bike.

These upsets should not overshadow two excellent performances at Oschersleben. Fany Gastro BMW Motorrad by Mercury Racing (Karel Hanika, Ondrej Jezek and Ladislav Chmelik) secured their finest result this season with a 5th-place finish. Likewise, Webike Tati Team Trick Star were 7th at the finish. Julien Enjolras and Kevin Denis had clearly got the measure of their new EWC Kawasaki with the help of Bastien Mackels at Oschersleben.

2019 8 Hours of Oschersleben Result

1F.C.C. Tsr Honda France3088:00:53.715
2Team Src Kawasaki France3078:01:56.887
3Vrd Igol Pierret Experiences3048:01:26.754
4Moto Ain3038:01:29.743
5Fany Gastro Bmw Motorrad- By M…3018:01:34.490
6Wójcik Racing Team 23018:01:57.888
7Webike Tati Team Trickstar3018:02:21.116
8Bmrt 3d Maccio Racing3008:01:18.500
9Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers3008:01:35.487
10Suzuki Endurance Racing Team3008:02:03.723
11No Limits Motor Team2998:01:14.064
12Team 33 Coyote Louit Moto2978:01:55.290
13Gert56 By Gs Yuasa2978:02:15.407
14Team Lrp Poland2968:01:11.662
15Jma Motos Action Bike2948:01:36.095
16Motobox Kremer Racing #652948:01:45.656
17Junior Team Lms Suzuki2938:01:20.343
18Bolliger Team Switzerland2938:02:01.431
19Team Erc-Bmw Motorrad Endurance2928:01:40.624
20Gsm Racing2928:01:55.015
21Team Aviobike2928:01:58.964
22Wójcik Racing Team2898:01:37.379
24Team 2022848:01:31.706
25Falcon Racing Rennes Motos2808:01:29.902
26Energie Endurance 912798:01:54.339
27Maco Racing Team2748:01:16.682
28Aprilia Grebenstein2708:01:23.310
29Bertl K. Racing Team2658:01:01.158
30British Endurance Racing Team2638:01:06.609
31Lcr Endurance2308:02:22.902
Not Classified
32Yart – Yamaha2666:51:10.469
33Honda Endurance Racing2647:04:30.487
34Mototech Ewc Team1675:11:02.345
35Wepol Racing1484:05:25.058
363art- Moto Team 951233:09:37.929
37Am Moto Racing Competition391:04:30.091
38Tmc 35322:06:38.576
39Extéria KSPCS Racing Team by EKO491:22:22.709

2019 Endurance World Championship Standings

PosTeam / EquipeTotal
1Team Src Kawasaki France132
2Suzuki Endurance Racing Team127
3F.C.C. Tsr Honda France109
4Wepol Racing101
5Yart – Yamaha88
6Honda Endurance Racing79
7Bolliger Team Switzerland73
8Vrd Igol Pierret Experiences53
9Moto Ain45
10Gert56 By Gs Yuasa45
11Bmrt 3d Maccio Racing39
12Fany Gastro Bmw Motorrad- By Mercury Racing38
13Webike Tati Team Trickstar36
14Team 33 Coyote  Louit Moto32
15Junior Team Lms Suzuki30
16Wójcik Racing Team 228
17No Limits Motor Team28
183art- Moto Team 9527
19National Motos25
20Motors Events24
21Motobox Kremer Racing #6524
22Wójcik Racing Team23
23Team Erc-Bmw Motorrad Endurance14
24Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers12
25Team Lrp Poland12
26Maco Racing Team12
27Jma Motos Action Bike8
28Og Motorsport By Sarazin7
29Zuff Racing Team6
30Am Moto Racing Competition5
31Mototech Ewc Team4
32Pitlane Endurance3
33Gsm Racing2
34Slider Endurance1
35Falcon Racing Rennes Motos1
36Set Racing1
Sepang Hour Start

YART Yamaha win inaugural 8 Hours of Sepang

Sepang 8 Hour YART Yamaha took the win ahead of Honda Asia Dream Racing with...
Sepang Hour Morbidelli

Morbidelli puts Yamaha on pole for Sepang 8 Hour

Sepang 8 Hours Qualifying Results Yamaha Sepang Racing took pole position in the top 10...
Yamaha Racing Team Sepang

Syahrin leads Sepang 8 Hour practice on drying track

Mixed conditions test riders at Sepang Following the private test dominated by F.C.C. TSR Honda...
Bol dOr Moto Ain

8 Hours of Sepang this weekend | World Endurance

8 Hours of Sepang shapes up as a scorcherThe maiden edition of the 8...
Bol dOr SERT Gregg Black

Floods, engine failures, flames and disqualifications mar Bol d’Or

2019 Bol d’OrWith thunderstorms and more heavy rain forecast during the night Race Direction, after...