ASBK Test Morgan Park Day Two Update

Troy Herfoss pips Wayne Maxwell on Day Two at Morgan Park
  1. Troy Herfoss 1m14.419
  2. Wayne Maxwell 1m14.446
  3. Cru Halliday 1m14.823
  4. Glenn Allerton 1m15.040
  5. Jamie Stauffer 1m15.656
  6. Lachlan Epis 1m16.636 (Supersport)
  7. Luke Mitchell 1m16.757 (SuperSport)
  8. Sloan Frost 1m16.868
  9. Callum Spriggs 1m17.265 (SuperSport)
  10. Ryan Hampton 1m17.813

Troy Herfoss displaced Wayne Maxwell at the top of the charts as the second and final day of a two-day ASBK test session came to a close at Morgan Park this afternoon.

Troy Herfoss

“I am really happy with how the two days went, and to be able to close the gap a little bit to our competitors after WA. Pirelli have a new rear tyre and it offered a lot of edge grip, enabling us to improve our laptime.

Troy Herfoss
Troy Herfoss

“I’m really happy for the Crankt Honda Racing Team because they have been working really hard and these two days were very positive. To end the two days at a new track fastest in official timing is a great reward for everyone involved.”

Mike Jones did not run a transponder. While this was presumably to disguise his race pace from competitors ahead of the fifth round of the ASBK Championship at the Queensland circuit early next month, DesmoSport Ducati Team Manager Ben Henry informed us that they have a transponder hard wired into their main bike, but as they were on their spare bike they hadn’t thought of fitting a transponder. The Ducati of course also runs it’s own timing system and Henry told us that Jones matched the pace of Herfoss with a 1m14.4.

Jones and Falzon are the only ASBK competitors to race at the Warwick based circuit in recent years, with the majority of this year’s ASBK top runners not competing at the track last year.

Falzon’s camp were unaware that riders were running transponders as regular timekeepers Computime were not in attendance, thus they had assumed there was no official timing taking place. The South Australian rider only took part in two sessions today before packing up.

Lachlan Epis was the fastest of the Supersport competitors ahead of Luke Mitchell and Callum Spriggs.

Broc Pearson led the charge of the Production category, his 1m25.6 a full 3.2-seconds below the official lap record for the class.

Morgan Park will be the penultimate round of the 2016 ASBK Championship, and it is still wide open at the top despite Maxwell leading the series by five points over teammate Allerton, while Herfoss is 18 points adrift in third.

ASBK Championship Standings
  1. Wayne Maxwell 176
  2. Glenn Allerton  171
  3. Troy Herfoss 158
  4. Mike Jones 137
  5. Ben Burke 114
  6. Cru Halliday 106
  7. Daniel Falzon  103
  8. Brayden Elliott 91
  9. Jamie Stauffer 84
  10. Matt Walters 73