Pirelli celebrate winning the ASBK tyre war

Troy Herfoss and Crankt Team Honda claim 2016 ASBK crown with Pirelli Diablo Superbike
Troy Herfoss
Troy Herfoss

Link International is pleased to present Troy Herfoss as the new Australian Superbike Champion for 2016. In a series that came down to the final race, Troy showed what the Diablo Superbike range is capable of with the combination of rider, motorcycle and team to claim the 2016 title.

Troy chose to race this weekend on Pirelli Diablo Superbike SCX 1699 front 120/70R-17 and 200/60R-17 SCX 0377, with both tyres available and used by riders across the privateer and factory teams who chose to race with Pirelli in this year’s championship. The Diablo Superbike SC1 rear also proved popular on the newly surfaced Winton track with many riders as another string race tyre option.

Along the way at the final round, Troy claimed the Pirelli Superpole award and one race win.

Paul Free – Team Owner – Crankt Protein Team Honda Racing

“I must say it’s a huge relief to get through that last round of the ASBK championship and come away with the Superbike championship win, when they come down to the last race to be decided the stress levels for all involved go up a notch or five.”

“Troy Herfoss put in an amazing effort right throughout the 2016 championship, even when times were really tough he kept his head down and pushed on.

“The same can be said for the guys at Link International and Pirelli. After the Sydney Motorsport Park round of the championship we met with them and explained exactly what we were looking for to be improve our competitiveness against our main rivals. What they responded with was exactly what we needed, a tyre available to everyone that you could bolt into the bike and grab half to three-quarters of a second depending on the track.

“What this tyre did for Troy’s track position and level of confidence was simply amazing. The first event we used this tyre was at Morgan Park and what Troy did to his opposition there was mind blowing. The level of confidence the tyre gave Troy on the first lap of the race was incredible, for any rider at this level to be able to pull a 1.8 second gap on the first lap of a race is just unheard of, and then to push on and comfortably win by 6 plus seconds tells the story.”

“I must say congratulations to Troy and a huge thank you to Link International and Pirelli, these are the type of relationships that create success stories.”

Troy Herfoss
Troy Herfoss
Don Nicholas – Product Manager Link International, Pirelli Moto

“Our congratulations to Troy on this championship win and also to Team Manager Paul Free from Crankt Protein Team Honda Racing. Troy’s Australian Superbike championship showcases the Pirelli Diablo Superbike range and its direct link to the World Superbike championship and available to all rider who chose to race on Pirelli in the Australian Superbike Championship. I know the team has worked very hard for this win with our Technicians at Link International, and we celebrate this victory together with them.”

Other notable performances in the Superbike class from Pirelli riders was a maiden podium result in race 2 for privateer Brayden Elliot at the final round, for 6th overall in the championship. DesmoSport Ducati rider Mike Jones also returned to improved results for the final round and 5th in the Championship aboard his Ducati. Also exciting was the return of Josh Waters to racing in Australia with he and his team to choosing to race with Pirelli to 3rd overall for the final round on his privateer Yamaha.

Visiting New Zealand riders Sloan Frost and Ryan Hampton also claimed the 2016 FIM Oceania Road Racing Championship on their Next Gen Motorsport Suzuki’s racing with Pirelli Diablo Superbike.

Link International thanks all riders who chose to race with Pirelli for season 2016.

The final national race for the year for Superbike will be the MotoGP support races at Phillip Island in October.

Troy Herfoss
Troy Herfoss
2016 YMI ASBK Championship Points Standings (Final)
  1. Troy Herfoss 255
  2. Glenn Allerton 238
  3. Wayne Maxwell 233
  4. Cru Halliday 165
  5. Mike Jones 163
  6. Brayden Elliott 153
  7. Daniel Falzon 151
  8. Jamie Stauffer 146
  9. Sloan Frost 121
  10. Ben Burke 114