Dunlop Geomax riders win three National championships and dominate MX1 series results

Dunlop supported Kirk Gibbs has secured his first ever Monster MX1 championship aboard his factory KTM, at the final round of the MX Nationals in Coolum over the weekend.

After finishing second to Matt Moss in 2014, Gibbs redeemed himself throughout the entire motocross season, leading the championship from round one through to round ten at Coolum and racing to an outstanding title win with the support of Dunlop.

Gibbs who carried a 61 point lead into the closing round of the series, took only one moto to seal the deal on his 2015 win, clinching the title with a race to spare.

Kirk Gibbs: “Getting this championship is really unexplainable,” he said.

“When I had that injury a little doubt did enter my head, but we fought through and I’m just so happy that I was able to get this done.

“It’s an amazing feeling and to win an Australian MX Nationals championship is a dream come true.

“I would like to thank Dunlop for their support this year.

“Their tyres have been amazing all year and knowing I have the best tyre on the gate for every surface of the ten round championship really gave me the confidence I needed to win the title.”

Kirk Gibbs won the 2015 MX Nationals MX1 Championship on Dunlop Geomax
Kirk Gibbs won the 2015 MX Nationals MX1 Championship on Dunlop Geomax

To top off Gibbs’ outstanding results, five of the six top positions in the overall MX1 championship were snatched up by Dunlop supported athletes Kade Mosig, Luke Styke, Lawson Bopping and Dan Reardon.

Kade Mosig: “I feel it has been a very positive year for me and the last few round things have really started to click. As a team we kept working hard and developing the bike and my riding improved so the results started to flow,” he said.

“Thank you to Dunlop for their efforts this year, their tyres were great for the entire ten round series and made sure I was on the pace regardless of the track conditions. I will be back next year and hope to go one better.”

Dunlop’s success also flowed on to the other championship classes with GYTR Yamaha’s Wilson Todd collecting a maiden MXD championship, with the support of Dunlop Tyres, and Yamaha’s Hunter Lawrence wrapping up the Rising Star Rookies title undefeated.

In addition to Todd’s success, Dunlop supported and Sony Action Cam Kawaski’s Takeshi Katsuya concluded his 2015 MX Nationals campaign by collecting third step on the MX2 podium, in his first full Australian motocross season.

Dunlops National Motorcycle Manager Sabastian Minicone made comment after the final round of the MX Nationals. “What fantastic results for Dunlop tyres and KTM,” he said.

“My congratulations to Kirk for winning this prestigious series. The ten rounds have been hotly contested in the premium MX1 class however Kirk kept his cool throughout the series to win in such a convincing way.

“My congratulations also to Kade Mosig as runner up also on Dunlop tyres. A fantastic result from him too. In fact Dunlop tyres were used by 5 of the top six riders in the MX 1 class, which proves the performance of our Geomax range.

“I must also congratulate Wilson Todd for his MXD Championship and Hunter Lawrence for his MXR Championship win who were both running Dunlop tyres. We could have not wished for better results in this series.”

Monster Energy MX1 Championship

1) Kirk Gibbs 647 – Dunlop

2) Kade Mosig 586 – Dunlop

3 Adam Monea 577

4) Luke Styke 577 – Dunlop

5) Lawson Bopping 523 – Dunlop

6) Daniel Reardon 510 – Dunlop

Motul MX2 Championship

1) Jay Wilson 600

2) Luke Clout 559

3) Takeshi Katsuya 541 – Dunlop

4) Jed Beaton 499

5) Caleb Ward 473 – Dunlop

MXD Championship

1) Wilson Todd 585 – Dunlop

Rising Star Rookies Championship

1) Hunter Lawrence 245 – Dunlop