2020 International Island Classic Preview

Team Australia have announced an impressive line-up of riders for the International Challenge at next year’s 2020 International Island Classic, which will be held at Phillip Island over the January 24-26 weekend.

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Paul Byrne Steve Martin
2020 International Island Classic returns to Phillip Island over the January 24-26 weekend- Image Russell Colvin

Reliable intel suggests an American team with even more firepower than 2019 is in the works, so defending International Challenge champion Australia has left nothing to chance by including a cavalcade of champions on its 2020 roster.

Dave Johnson, Jed Metcher, Steve Martin, Shawn Giles and 2019 pacesetter Aaron Morris lead the way, while also on the grid for the locals will be Alex Phillis, Beau Beaton, Cam Donald, Craig Ditchburn, Scott Webster and John Allen.

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin David Johnson Suzuki XR
Dave Johnson – Image by Russell Colvin

Martin, who defeated Morris on a countback in 2019 to win the Ken Wootton Memorial Trophy for the highest individual scorer, says that to win the International Challenge trophy you’ve got, “to ride it like you stole it!”.

Steve Martin

“Winning the 2019 International Challenge is something I’m so proud of, and to continue racing against some of the biggest names in history at the event sparks my passion. The best part is it’s a different rider and bike combo that seems to come to the fore each year, so everyone’s a threat. I’m really starting to get the goose bumps as we close in on 2020 because every year it gets just that bit tougher. And I just love the event where people can get up nice and close to the bikes and are free to wander through the pits.”

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Steve Martin Ken Wootton Perpetual Trophy
Steve Martin – 2019 Ken Wootton Perpetual Trophy winner – Image by Russell Colvin

As well as the speed and consistency of Martin, his teammates also share plenty of International Challenge highlights. Johnson was the dominant force in 2018 and arrives at Phillip Island off the back of victory in the Superbike Classic TT in August at the Isle of Man, podiums in the Macau GP last week and a Superstock TT podium at the Isle of Man TT in June.

Metcher is also well-qualified at Phillip Island, winning the International Challenge crown in 2016 (with the UK’s Jeremy McWilliams); and Giles took the Ken Wootton award in 2013 and 2014 (again sharing the title with McWilliams).

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Jed Metcher and Beau Beaton
Jed Metcher & Beau Beaton – Image by Russell Colvin

Phillis, Beaton, Donald, Ditchburn, Webster and Allen are also long-time Aussie Island Classic campaigners and have contributed greatly to the local team’s success in the 15 years of the championship.

Australia has claimed the title 12 times and the UK has landed the crown thrice in that period. Line-ups from America and the United Kingdom will be unveiled in the coming week.

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Morris Giles
Aaron Morris & Shawn Giles – Image by Russell Colvin

2020 International Island schedule

Backing the International Challenge, is the Island Classic program of 52 additional races for machines across the six historic racing categories: Veteran (up to 1919), Vintage (1920-1945), Classic (1946-1962), Post Classic (1963-1972), Forgotten Era (1973-1982) and New Era (1983-1990).

Hr Island Classic PR Header HRIn total, 400 solo bikes will take to the 4.445km Phillip Island circuit over the three days, where each class will be decided after one qualifying session and four races; and the Phil Irving Trophy will be the rider who scores the highest points in non-International Challenge events.

Island Classic preview Img R Colvin Martin Giles Morris Island Classic
Steve Martin, Shawn Giles, Aaron Morris – Image by Russell Colvin

Qualifying begins Friday for all classes, followed by a full program of racing on Saturday and Sunday. To book tickets and on-circuit camping for an affordable Australian Day long-weekend away at the International Island Classic go to www.islandclassic.com.au (link)

IIC Phillip Island Rob Mott Friday Jason Pridmore Josh Hayes

Team America announced for 2020 Island Classic

Team America for 2020 International Challenge announcedTeam America have thrown down the gauntlet to defending champion Australia ahead of the 2020 International Island Classic,...
Chas Hern on the T Rex FJ1200 Yamah leads eventual championship winner Aaron Morris also on a FJ1200 and Stephen Kairl off the front straight in the Period 6 Unlimited field

Historic Road Race Nationals heads to Mount Gambier in 2020

2020 Australian Historic Road RacingMotorcycling Australia have announced that the Mount Gambier Motor Cycle Club Inc. will be hosting the 2020 Australian Historic Road...
Aaiden Coote st Place Period Formula

Australian Historic Road Race Champions crowned at Collie

2019 Australian Historic Road Racing Championship Collie Motorplex - By John Innes Western Australian Photographer and Journalist John Innes gives us the race report from the...
Classic TT Superbike David Johnson Win

David Johnson wins Classic TT Superbike race

2019 Classic TT  RST Superbike Classic TT RaceSouth Australian David Johnson, riding the Alistair Cowan Racing Kawasaki, won a dramatic RST Superbike Classic TT Race...
Isle of Man Classic TT Jamie Coward

Jamie Coward tops Junior Classic TT from Michael Rutter

2019 Classic TT Junior Classic TT2019 proved to be Jamie Coward's year in the Classic TT, finally laying claim to the top step of the...
Lightweight Bruce Anstey

Bruce Anstey takes emotional victory in Lightweight Classic TT

Classic Lightweight  TTFollowing a two year absence, Bruce Anstey achieved one of the most popular Mountain Course race wins in history in this evening’s...
Senior R McGuinness

John McGuinness wins Senior Classic TT

  2019 Classic Senior TTJohn McGuinness delivered a Mountain Course masterclass - winning a restarted three lap Bennetts Senior Classic TT Race after the original...
Classic TT PracticeQ Dunlop Harrison

Classic TT qualifying finally underway after sun arrives on the IOM

2019 Classic TT Classic TT competitors finally got the chance to blow away the cobwebs from the weather affected qualifying week with a double qualifying...
Classic TT Superbike Paul Jordan Michael Rutter Practice

RST Superbike Classic TT Form Guide

RST Superbike Classic TTHorst Saiger will lead the RST Superbike Classic TT Race away for the second year in a row as he lines...
Bruce Anstey (250 Honda/Padgetts Motorcycles.com) at The Bungalow during the Dunlop Lightweight Classic TT race. PICTURE BY DAVE KNEEN\PACEMAKER PRESS

Bruce Anstey set for Lightweight Classic TT on Padgett’s Honda RS250

2019 Lightweight Classic TT Bruce Anstey is to make a welcome return to TT action in the class and starting at his customary #5 for...